PDA

View Full Version : newbie question concerning 2nd hard drive



shoulder
03-09-2002, 01:55 AM
I'm adding a second hard drive in my computer. Do i have to make a image of my original A drive in my standalone tivo? Can I just go and bless my 2nd hard drive and put it in my tivo?

keith721
03-09-2002, 03:27 PM
you can add the second drive without backing up your original A drive, HOWEVER . . .

if you don't make a good backup before you bless the new B drive and marry it to the existing A drive, it becomes more difficult, time-consuming, and frustrating to try to restore your TiVo, if it should ever become necessary.

if all you're doing is adding extra recording time, but no significant hacks, skipping the backup isn't a huge problem. if you plan on applying any other hacks to it, having a 'clean' backup is almost a necessity.

shoulder
03-09-2002, 08:22 PM
thanks for your help