PDA

View Full Version : I need a little help

idontknow
03-11-2002, 05:55 PM
Unfortunetly I need to fall into the stereo type of this forum of "someone who doesn't know anything". I posted yesterday that I'm really new at this Tivo hacking thing and MRBLACK reccomended doing some searching to gain some knowledge.
Well I have done lots of searching and found out tons on info about upgrading the drives for additional storage etc. But I still haven't found what I'm looking for

I don't want to B.S. anyone here...I'm trying to set up my Tivo for use without subscribing. I have searched many time useing keywords such as....tivo hack, free tivo, etc. Many past threads show up when I do this but I still feel very confused. I have also checked out other Tivo related sites and they won't have anything to do with the question I'm asking. WHAT DO I DO??

I don't want anyone to sit here and type out a detailed description of what I have to do to get free Tivo sub. but just point me in some direction. I have no problem with sitting down and reading an hours worth of material, I just need to someone to show me where the reading material is.

Thanks
IDK

BubbleLamp
03-11-2002, 06:35 PM
Are you saying you already read the How-To's in the DTivo section of this board and still are lost? If so, then this might not be the sport for you. Not trying to knock you dude, but you aren't going to find any babysitters here. All that you wish to know is here for the taking, including help when you get stuck, but you need to make an effort.

mrblack51
03-11-2002, 07:17 PM
first off: do you have a standalone unit or a direcTiVo? selecting which forum to seach will help narrow the search.

groundhog
03-11-2002, 07:49 PM
Seeing that your post is in a Direct TV forum. I'm assuming you are attempting to hack a Direct TV Tivo. Here are some key words for you're search.

Extreme & Touch (most of the info you need will be in the DirectTV Tivo Hacking Forum)