PDA

View Full Version : Got DSR6000 today, want to disable phone call



onyx00
03-14-2002, 02:12 PM
I just got the DSR6000. I don't want to upgrade the hard drive right now, I just want to disable the phone call so I can get free DirecTivo service (or rather the Tivo service). I am also running an emulator (Pitou); do I need to do anything to get the unit to accept that?

Also, I know I should do a backup before even powering up the unit; should I just use MFS tools to do this and then burn the image to a CD?

Thanks guys!

BubbleLamp
03-14-2002, 05:33 PM
Here is some required reading to get you up to speed.

How-to sticky (http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=5827).


Hinsdale's excellent How-To (http://www.newreleasesvideo.com/hinsdale-how-to/).

onyx00
03-14-2002, 07:36 PM
Read those over pretty well already.

My confusion is what I need to do and what I dont. It seems to me that I don't need to install Xtreme 2.5 because I am sticking with the original hardware and drive size that came with the unit. Oh, and I don't need the dual tuner yet really (you guys with like 100 hours are crazy, I can't imagine recording over 20 hours, oh well).

My main objective is to get the unit so it won't call in, and it gets the locals. Obviously I need to also get BASH working to do this and as not to clear on that from the How-To's.

BubbleLamp
03-14-2002, 08:54 PM
You have to modify the kernel and the PROM in order to be able to run scripts from bash. You can't just leave your system "stock" and change the service status to lifetime or get locals. Run Xtreme, or sub the box.

onyx00
03-15-2002, 12:50 AM
Awesome, okay, that's the answer I was looking for. So basically I have to run Xtreme.

If I run Xtreme now n the system and want to add a hard drive later, will that be a big problem? I saved the virgin backup already (before even powering the unit on).

Also, is there a way to backup the PROM before I start messing with it?

T_RJ
03-15-2002, 01:32 AM
You could do a search on getprom.

Here is a link to my previuos post regarding your same question.

Here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=23522&highlight=getprom#post23522)

BubbleLamp
03-15-2002, 01:40 AM
I think adding a drive afterwards might require doing a TivoMad backup/restore then blessing the new drive. You'd lose recordings, but not your season passes/wish lists. I think you could just bless a drive in a SA Tivo, but seem to remember people here saying you can't with the DTivo.

There is a copy of the original PROM code on the drive already, so you could use it to restore the code. But, it is still possible to hose the PROM to the point where you can't restore it. The chances are small, but it's one of the caveats you need to keep in mind.

onyx00
03-15-2002, 02:31 AM
BubbleLamp, send you a PM, thanks for the help!