PDA

View Full Version : SA Tivo Hard Drive

efilnicafesin
03-27-2002, 02:20 PM
I want to upgrade my HD in my SA tivo. Does brand matter?? I did read in one of the guides about using a 5400 rpm which is no problem. I also saw in a few threads here about using a Quantum--Are they still around?? Are there any brands to stay away from?? I am looking at a Maxtor and wanted to know if this should be ok.

Yeah....I'm a newbie :D

Hey Hey
03-27-2002, 02:55 PM
I used an 80 GB 5400 rpm Maxtor in my DTivo and it is working just fine.

groundhog
03-27-2002, 04:46 PM
The Quantums used to be suggested a lot, because they were used as backups. People would make a backup directly to a Quantum drive, and use it as the new A drive keeping the original as the backup. We can now make 130 meg compressed images, an use other drives as a new A drive, so it doesn't matter that much. I've mainly seen people use Maxtor, Western Digital, Seagate. Those are 3 that I can think of off the top of my head. Brand is only as important as the quality that follows the brand. Just make sure that it has an IDE connection. Some people discourage 7200rpm drives because they tend to run a little hotter.

BubbleLamp
03-27-2002, 05:21 PM
WD's tend to be quite noisy, I'd stay away from them.

groundhog
03-27-2002, 07:46 PM
Maxtors seem to be the least expensive, and therefore most popular. Fry's currently has a 80gig on sale for $90. Great Price. It's a 7200, but I paid about $220 for an 80gig 5400 Maxtor just about a year ago.

Some prefer Seagate. I got a 60gig on sale for $80 a few months back, and it works great. They also are on sale now an then at fry's. If you aren't local to a Fry's Elec, then you can try ordering one from the web. Here is a link to a site that has many low cost internet sites for hard drives.

http://www.pricewatch.com./

efilnicafesin
03-28-2002, 06:38 AM