PDA

View Full Version : 3M'd DTV with Tivo question



baggend
04-26-2002, 05:37 PM
I've currently got a 3M'd HU in my DTV receiver (subbed) and I'm considering upgrading to a DirecTivo receiver. While I don't mind paying $10 a month for Tivo, as I understand it, I'd have to have it plugged into the phone jack at least occasionally in order to maintain the subscription. With a 3M'd card, this just isn't going to happen.

I'd like to keep my DTV subbed so that a) I can have a clean bin, and b) I can have something to fall back to if/when the 3M gets ECM'd.

What can I do in regards to Tivo in this setup? Should I not order the Tivo at all and just use Xtreme 2.5? Should I wait for the 3.0 Tivo updates to come out and see how things pan out? Should I sub the Tivo as well and just not plug it into the phonejack? (And will my subscription still "work" like this?)

Thanks in advance for any help.

chaos11624
04-28-2002, 05:22 AM
use extreme 2.5 all your guide info will be d/l via ird and you wont have to plug in the phone line.

chaos11624
04-28-2002, 05:25 AM
woops jumped ahead of myself i belive that if you clear your logs youll be ok but just in case id try posting in this forum

http://www.dsschat.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?forumid=28

they deal with more of the dss side to directivo i think that they would be able to give you the heads up on things

tron1003
05-04-2002, 03:51 AM
where can I get extreme 2.5. Will it eliminate the dialup process

BubbleLamp
05-04-2002, 11:49 AM
Start your reading here (http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=5827).