PDA

View Full Version : help w/ bash

krugans
06-06-2002, 01:38 AM
I got 25 xtreme loaded fine. now I'm trying to get the sub hack.
I fired up tera term, hit return and got bash 2.02#.
Now I type cd/ , and I get "no such file on cd "
Tried it on hyperterm and teraterm. both saying the same.
What' s missing?

BubbleLamp
06-06-2002, 02:51 AM
You need to put a space between the CD and the /.

krugans
06-07-2002, 02:04 AM
I tried that cd / and it just went to bash 2.02# again on the next line. What's suppose to come up? something like a directory?
Sorry I'm a real newbie.

I tried the long way to get the life sub and hooked up the HD to my PC. and it worked, I got lifetime.
here's what I did..
mkdir /mnt/td
mount /dev/hdc4 /mnt/td
touch /mnt/td/etc/SubTest
chmod +x /mnt/td/etc/SubTest
umount hdc4
When I typed umount hdc4, It said hdc not valid or something like that. I hooked it up to dtivo, did the call and it worked. sys info says... 5 lifetime. since I really don't know what I'm doing, would something go wrong later on?
also how important is it to clear log?
I would still want to get that bash going.
Thanks

donbadabon
06-07-2002, 06:50 AM
Originally posted by krugans
Now I type cd/ , and I get "no such file on cd "

Shouldn't it be cd \ not cd / ?

BubbleLamp
06-07-2002, 10:03 AM
krugans, you should take care of the logs, or one day you'll find your /hack directory is gone.

donbadabon, cd \ is in the DOS world, cd / is unix. Neither do anything other than take you to the root directory.

Suggest you learn the basic unix commands, you'll need them. It's not really that hard once you know a handful.

donbadabon
06-07-2002, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by krugans
I tried that cd / and it just went to bash 2.02# again on the next line. What's suppose to come up? something like a directory?