PDA

View Full Version : Can't Get A Bash Prompt



setter
06-17-2002, 08:32 AM
Hi all:

I have installed 2.5 xtreme on Hughes GXCEBOT and did lifetime hack via PC (all working fine) but now am trying to install locals. Loaded Teraterm 2.3 but all I get is a flashing black square on the Teraterm screen and can't get the bash prompt or type any characters on the screen.

Please tell me what to do!!

Thanks.

BubbleLamp
06-17-2002, 10:37 AM
Are you going over serial port? If yes, did you make your own cable? What are your terminal settings?

setter
06-17-2002, 12:51 PM
Serial port-com 1 9600. Bought the cable on ebay-said tested at 57,600.

However, I finally did get one by going into my rc.sysinit file via the computer and 25xtreme boot cd and was transferring the files from mvchannels131.zip when the mvchannels.dat wouldn't completely transfer and then a bunch of lines scrolled and then it stopped. After, no bash prompt.

Went into the rc.sysinit file again, got prompt back-same thing-lost it.

Can you point me to the right instructions for properly installing and keeping the bash prompt?