PDA

View Full Version : BASH gets horked on a 2.5 SA Tivo



sendero
07-07-2002, 07:52 PM
I've been running hacked Hughes DTivos for a while, but recently got hold of a 2.5 standalone Tivo that I wanted to play with. ALthough I think I did everything right for getting a bash prompt, it does not work right.

In Tera Term, here is what I see
"bash: no job control in this shell
bash-2.02#
"

Any letters or keys that I press result in garbage being dumped to the tera term screen. Can anyone suggest/help with what I am doing wrong?

Thanks!

superzap
07-07-2002, 08:16 PM
Type in
stty sane
and see this (http://tivo.samba.org/index.cgi?req=all#4.7)

donbadabon
07-07-2002, 08:18 PM
If that doesn't work, try this:

At the bash prompt, type:

stty echo cooked

and then type

tivosh

sendero
07-10-2002, 07:36 PM
Well, I feel really stupid now. It turns out that the problem was that the serial port was setup for controlling a DSS receiver, so that was what horked my bash prompt. I had missed that bullet point, but thanks for pointing it out.

I am now up & running great! Thanks for the help!