PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Emu and Tivo?

sage88
07-08-2002, 05:33 PM
I've read a great deal in this message board but have been unable to definitively solve what seems to be a fairly basic question.

I emulate to receive dtv using an old h card. I have a minimal subscription to dtv, so i use a subbed bin. Have been doing so for months without a hitch. Now, my roommate bought a SA Tivo series 2 model TCD140060. Unbeknownst to me, he did the activation (monthly) on-line and installed the box.

When i came home, the tivo was working and the phone line was connected. Needless to say, i freaked out a bit and we immediately dusconnected the phone line.

Firstly, is the information transmitted to Tivo shared with dtv? If so, is it viewing info - and potentially damaging to my testing activities?

Secondly, i read about the backdoor remote method, as well as extreme 2.5. The backdoor method came with great caveats, warning about potential damage caused (didn't elaborate) and extreme seems directly related to adding additional or upgrading existing hard drives.

So, am i jeopardizing my "testing" by using the phone connection (which i understand is required at least once every thirty days) and if so, what is the most effective way to circumvent the need for the phone communication?

My apologies for not having been able to find my own answers, i hope someone can be of assistance.

btw- (without appearing to kiss too much butt, but at least indicating i have read a great deal) groundhog, you seem very knowledgable and helpful in this specific area, perhaps you can come to my rescue.

groundhog
07-09-2002, 01:43 PM