PDA

View Full Version : Solid State A drive



AlphaWolf
07-12-2002, 04:24 PM
Just curious, anybody think putting a solid state drive as hda would speed up a dtivo any? (im mostly thinking in the range of making the memory paging go a hell of a lot faster)

Course I don't think there are any 40 gig versions of a solid state drive yet, but hell if it gives much of a speed boost, a 1 gig solid state A drive and 80 gig conventional B drive would be nice if we could figure out a way to make tivo work with a 1 gig A drive.

BubbleLamp
07-12-2002, 05:54 PM
How much $$$ (http://www.storagesearch.com/ssd.html) you got?

khmann
07-15-2002, 03:23 PM
I got me one of those fancy new Western Digital 7200RPM 120GB with the 8meg cache. It runs well.

Alternatively (and more cost-effectively), what about using the linux MD tools to build a raid0 stripe-set accross two more modest drives?

AlphaWolf
07-16-2002, 08:36 AM
thats pretty cool, I just bought a few 128MB compact flash cards from frys electronics for $36 a pop a few months ago...wonder if anybody makes some of those that hold multiple flash cards?

onyx00
07-18-2002, 11:39 AM
I don't think converting the DTivo to solid state would be a plug and play deal...

Lowcarb
08-16-2002, 10:38 PM
It seems to me that Flash memory is condiderably slower than a hard disk, so I don't see how this would speed things up.

Dram would be faster but it doesn't retain it's data when power is lost.

qtipwax
09-11-2002, 10:06 PM
It is my understanding that there is a limited amount of times you can read/write to these?? Does anyone know anything about this?

qtip

BubbleLamp
09-11-2002, 11:17 PM
Originally posted by qtipwax
It is my understanding that there is a limited amount of times you can read/write to these?? Does anyone know anything about this?

qtip

You're thinking of FLASH RAM. SSD's use SDRAM, like a PC. They are used to speed up apps like databases and as high-speed disk caches, among other things.

throwing
10-28-2002, 03:54 PM
Check out what 9th Tee has - cache modules that use standard PC RAM (512MB works best) on the IDE chain to boost menu speed.

Good for them for getting a board that works with two hard drives plus the cache! $89 seems high for a riser board w/o memory though... They are good at dropping prices on stuff though.

http://www.9thtee.com/tivocachecard.htm

AlphaWolf
10-28-2002, 04:42 PM
I would love to see comparisons on tivos with or without these.