PDA

View Full Version : Win XP and Tivo upgrading

Steve_Neal
08-23-2002, 12:26 PM
Newbie here

I've just upgraded PCs from a Win 98 Tosh P120 Laptop (with dead CD-ROM) to an Athlon 1800 based system running Windows XP Home edition. I am based in the UK - and have just bought a UK Thomson Tivo.

AIUI I will need to remove the HD from the Tivo and attach it to my PC to perform some of the backup and upgrade processes. However my PC HD is formatted with NTFS - not FAT or FAT32. I notice that all of the guides to using Boot Discs mention that a FAT HD must be installed - presumably because the mini Linux that you boot into doesn't recognise NTFS formats?

Any advice? I'm an ex-video engineer - and used to write lowish level firmware for a living. Perfectly happy wielding a soldering iron (though hate doing anything surface mount related) to make cables etc. However I am not a Windows or Linux expert - and don't want to trash my PC or Tivo!

I do have a CD-RW drive in my PC.

My aim is to get a TurboNet card to allow me to connect my Tivo to my ADSL router to get updates over broadband, and also hopefully run TivoWeb to allow me to schedule recordings when not at home! I am sure I will pretty soon want to upgrade the hard drives, and if posssible tweak the recording format from 540x576 to 720x576 if possible - as the other factor in going for Tivo was my annoyance at the poor quality of VHS and S-VHS composite/s-video recording when watching RGB DSat and DTT broadcasts.

Any advice about configuration of an ADSL Router for Tivo use? (Dlink DSL 504 with Demon - when they get round to connecting me... Possibly with a static IP address from my ISP)

superzap
08-23-2002, 01:35 PM
Yes, NTFS partition not good for mfstool backups. What I would do is get another HD, format to FAT32 (max 32GB), put on a spare IDE channel.