PDA

View Full Version : amount of recording time



sqrl
08-31-2002, 05:45 PM
Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong. I have an 80 gig and a 120 gig drive have done xtreme on both. After everything is up and running it says I only have 28 hours of recording time. I have done a third unit same proceedure etc. It has an 80 gig drive but reports 67 hours record time. Any suggestions on where to start troubleshooting????

BubbleLamp
08-31-2002, 07:03 PM
Sounds like you didn't expand the image to use the rest of the disk space.

groundhog
09-04-2002, 07:33 PM
A single 80 gig drive with 67 hours sounds pretty close. It's a little less than a gig per hour. The 28 hour unit is definatly wrong. What you have is an unexpanded 30 gig image on that drive. Extreme comes from a single 30 gig drive image. Anyway, you can either use extreme & answer the questions correctly, or you can use Tivo Mad With Hinsdales instructions on how to expand the image. If you use Tivomad, you may be able to save your seasons passes etc? Also, decide now if you want more than one drive in there. It gets kinda complicated adding a drive later to unit that already has an expanded drive.