PDA

View Full Version : I've got Ping, but no telnet



nilknarf
10-23-2002, 01:16 PM
Ok. I've set up an airnet adapter with an Orinoco Gold card using an Orinoco RG1000 AP in bridge mode connected to my Linksys BEFSR41 router. My Tivo has 2.5 Extreme with Kraven's update added.

I installed the wireless drivers from Silicondust. They now support Orinoco cards.

I've assigned a static IP of 192.168.1.200 to the Tivo with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. The tranfer setting is optimal and encryption is set to none on both the tivo and the AP.

My SSID is set to the ID of the RG1000, or 3d6fc8. This is the network name I use when setting up the card on a notebook for use with the RG1000, so I assume that should be the SSID.

My problem is I can ping 192.168.1.200 without any problems, but when I try to telnet from hyperterminal, I get the message: Unable to connect to 192.168.1.200, port 23. I've also tried to FTP using FTP Voyager without any luck.

I even installed Jack's tnlited-binary.tar.gz file because it was supposed to be more stable but still no telnet.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

nilknarf
10-28-2002, 11:47 PM
Am I correct to assume that the network ID of the RG1000 is the SSID, or does the Linksys router determine the SSID?

JJBliss
10-29-2002, 08:53 AM
What does your tnlited entry in your rc.sysinit look like?

In fact, what does your rc.sysinit look like, altogether?

If you loaded ping on your tivo, can you get to your default gw ?

The short answer to your immediate question is that the Linksys does not define the wireless SSID. That is defined and most probably configurable at tthe RG1000

JJ

nilknarf
10-30-2002, 02:38 PM
My rc.sysinit is pretty long, so I just uploaded it to here:

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/oyez/rc.sysinit.txt

Again, any advice is greatly appreciated.

nilknarf
11-01-2002, 09:38 AM
Just thought I'd post JJBlis' reply to my PM:


Sorry man. I got nothing to offer. It looks good to me. I like to keep these things in the open forum, 'cause it let's others who might have an answer chime in.

Since your rc.sysinit looks OK, maybe it really is an SSID problem.

Weird though..

__________________
----------------------------
(1) DSR6000 - 108hrs
(1) DSR6000 - 35hrs
(1) GXEBOT - 179hrs
(1) SA Tivo - 35hrs