PDA

View Full Version : I just want to Burn a d*mn DVD of a TiVo Recording

tMk
10-28-2002, 01:45 PM
I am a DVD newbie - no ifs ands or buts. Please pardon my ignorance, I have spent most of the weekend reading everything I could find on extracting video from dtivo to make a DVD. What you guys have done is nothing short of amazing - my hats off to you - very cool stuff.

I have a Hughes dtivo and have been able to successfully turn-off scrambling and using tytool5 to extract the raw ty stream to my PC (very cool indeed!). I am using the option in tytool to split the ty file into the .m2v and .m2a during the extraction from the dTivo. Using dvdpatch, I patch the header to 720 horizontal so I can load into Spruceup and then patch it back to 480. Doing all this I can create a title set (Using SpruceUp) that I can burn to my DVD - I am using a CenDyne DV-104 (same as a Pioneer DV-104) for the burning.

My problem is that my files that I am burning do not seem to be large enough. My output set from SpruceUp is around 700 MB for a 30 minute show - I think it should be around a gig or sor assuming two hours of video should fit on my 4.7GB DVD. A three hour show off the dtivo only fills about 4.2GB. This concerns me - what am I doing wrong?

I think I am missing something important - is it that I am burning video that is 480x480 as opposed to 720x480?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide - if I missed this somewhere on the forum I apologize.

tMk

Wooly
10-28-2002, 01:51 PM
1. TivoApp extract using MFSStream.
2. VSplit the files into .m2v and .m2a
3. Mux using TMPGEnc, Mpeg Tools, Simple Multiplex
4. View .MPG in PowerDVD, write down your edit points
5. Edit in TMPGEnc, Mpeg Tools, Merge & Cut (for movies, it's piece of cake - just enter in the starting and ending point and you're good). Save it to a new Mpeg
6. Demux in TMPGEnc, Mpeg Tools, Simple Demultiplex.
7. Run IFOEdit v.94 or higher - DVD Author, put in your edited .m2v and .m2a.
8. Create.