PDA

View Full Version : Making SA TiVo record shows @ 720x480 and 48KHz

psxjunky
10-29-2002, 07:43 PM
I have a Philips Series 1 stand alone TiVo and am desperately trying to find out an relatively EASY and FAST way to archive some shows into DVD-R.

I am a failry newbie at this, and have been trying to do all the research that I can ... but after trying various methods, I am extremely frustrated at the lack of (as far as I know) an easy and fast way to get shows off of an SA TiVo to a DVD-R.

This is what I am doing currently ...

1. Use TivoApp to extract the TyStream (this is fine)
2. Use TyConvert to get the audio and video streams (this is fine)
3. Use TMPGEnc to re-encode the separate audio video streams to a single stream of 720x480 video and 48KHz audio (this is the part I hate most)
4. Feeding the re-encoded MPEG2 to SpruceUp and author the DVD (this part is fine as well)

I am not at all happy with the result that I am getting. My biggest gripe is the loooooong time TMPGEnc takes to re-encode the stream :( I have tried using a d2v project (from DVD2AVI) instead of the MPG from TyConvert, but that completely messed up my end result and still took a looooong time.

I wish I could use the relatively easy DVD Patcher method to "fool" the video resolution, but since I don't have a DTivo, I don't get 48KHz audio and that doesn't help !!

I read somewhere in these forums that it is possible to hack the Tivo to record shows at DVD compliant format (720x480 video and 48KHz audio) that I can directly feed to SpruceUp.

Does anyone have ANY more info on this ? I would really really really like to avoid the reencoding part with TMPGEnc if I can at all avoid that !!

Any info, tips, pointers ... anything at all to relieve my current frustration level ;) ... will be greatly appreciated !!

psxjunky
10-30-2002, 02:18 PM