PDA

View Full Version : seeking automated extraction advice

phildog
12-04-2002, 11:21 PM
OK, I've read quite a bit but it is really just starting to become a jumble in my head so I'll just risk the flaming and ask for help...

I have a DirecTivo SAT-T60 from sony with 25xtreme, Kraven's upgrade, and a working turbonet installed.

The tivo is on a LAN with both a windows box and a RH Linux box.

What I'm looking for is an automated way to extract a show from the tivo and have it moved to either the linux or win2k box in the middle of the night. (Once it is there, I will probably move it to my 20gig Pocketec portable HD to bring to "work" and watch at my leisure, but moving it there is the easy part).

Now I started playing with some things and got an extraction with TyTool5 to work and save the split files to my win2k box, but I'm thinking someone must have done EXACTLY what I want already...

So, does anyone have a quick recipe for making this happen? I don't really care about burning dvds or vcds or any of that stuff--I just want a working MPEG file that is ready to use without any manual steps if possible.

I started looking through all this stuff about MUXing etc etc and thought MAN! here is a whole lot of stuff I really don't care to learn.

ps. I'm willing to pay for utilities if the best solution involves commercial software.

phildog
12-05-2002, 04:13 PM
Riley,

Thanks for your help. I'm almost there...

I successfully got mfsstream working with tivoweb and extracted a ty file:
CliffordtheBigRedDog.ty
(just testing, and I have a kid who loves this show)

Then I used vsplit:
vsplit13 CliffordtheBigRedDog.ty CliffordtheBigRedDog.m2v CliffordtheBigRedDog.m2a

But now I'm having trouble getting mplex to do its thing. Can you suggest a command line to use to make it work?

thanks,
Phil

phildog
12-05-2002, 05:01 PM
never mind, this seemed to do the trick:
mplex -f 4 -O -8 -o clifford.mpeg2 CliffordtheBigRedDog.m2a CliffordtheBigRedDog.m2v