PDA

View Full Version : Can't transfer 4+Gbyte file with mfsstream



mikea
12-10-2002, 04:30 PM
I have been able to offload files just over 2GByte using
the mfsstream modules from jdiner and gosquad via
tivoweb. When I try to offload a file over 4GBytes (two
hours at best quality) the file size is reported properly
in tivoweb, but when I go to download it reports it as
only a few hundred MBytes.
I am downloading to a WinXP PC using the NTFS file
system, and haven't had a problem with large files prior
to this.
I am using the latest mfsstream files I can find in various
stickies and webpages.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks.
MikeA

captain_video
12-11-2002, 08:52 AM
Try using Tytool instead. You should be able to extract large files with it. You can also specify the size of the file for extraction so you can extract it in sections for splitting and burning to multiple DVDs or CDs.

Wooly
12-11-2002, 05:55 PM
Are ANY drives in your system Fat/Fat32? Point being, you may very well be saving the file to a NTFS drive, but the drive where the Temp file is saved before actually saving it to the NTFS drive may be Fat32. If that's the case, then you would hit that 4 gig limit.

Try TivoApp or TyTool, which both save to the destination drive natively, unlike IE which saves files as I've described above.

Another option would be to change the temp drive that IE uses - but I believe that involves several Registry changes that are no fun to make.


Originally posted by mikea
I have been able to offload files just over 2GByte using
the mfsstream modules from jdiner and gosquad via
tivoweb. When I try to offload a file over 4GBytes (two
hours at best quality) the file size is reported properly
in tivoweb, but when I go to download it reports it as
only a few hundred MBytes.
I am downloading to a WinXP PC using the NTFS file
system, and haven't had a problem with large files prior
to this.
I am using the latest mfsstream files I can find in various
stickies and webpages.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks.
MikeA

mikea
12-13-2002, 11:53 PM
captain video and wooly
Thanks for the help. I used tytool and it seemed to work
fine transfering the video, although I was having some problems
on premature termination of tytool during the conversion from
.ty to .mpg after transferring the files to my PC. For the record,
the PC I am using has only one hard drive which is NTFS, so I
still don't have a clue why I couldn't transfer large 4GB+ videos
from my tivo using the tivoweb addon, when they seemed to
transfer just fine with tytool.
Thanks again.
MikeA