PDA

View Full Version : mplex error help



PcGod718
12-10-2002, 09:44 PM
i have my streams extracted from my tivo with tytool5.
my offsec was 2 milliseconds.
im getting THIS when using mplex after about 8 seconds..

mplex -f 4 -O -2 -o dude.mpg2 dude.m2a dude.m2v

(DTS)=6490336
++ WARN: [mplex] Video e0: buf= 233219 frame=001980 sector=00007889
++ WARN: [mplex] Audio c0: buf= 4096 frame=002985 sector=00000749
**ERROR: [mplex] Too many frame drops -exiting


any help please?
i dont care about anything other than getting a nicely synced mpeg, then converting over to a clear DIVX.

thanx

-PC

lmurray
12-11-2002, 09:10 AM
If you just want an mpg to convert to divx, try using the MPEG format (-f 3) in your mplex line. The -f 4 option is for svcds.


mplex -f 3 -O -2 -o dude.mpg2 dude.m2a dude.m2v


-lloyd-

PcGod718
12-11-2002, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by lmurray
If you just want an mpg to convert to divx, try using the MPEG format (-f 3) in your mplex line. The -f 4 option is for svcds.


mplex -f 3 -O -2 -o dude.mpg2 dude.m2a dude.m2v


-lloyd-

well spank my ass and call me sally.. that seems to work. dunno y i never tried it..
any reason u can think of that SVCD doesnt?
i may wanna keep some movies in svcd if/when i get a dvd burner
thanx
-Pc

lmurray
12-12-2002, 10:01 AM
I think mplex expects the split streams to be similiar to the svcd spec. (480x480 1.5-2.0 bitrate etc..etc..) If the mpeg is not "close" then mplex can't make a usable svcd mpeg. If your streams are at a higher bitrate, you'll need to transcode them using a tool like TMPGEnc.

I've tried using the 352x480 res, and mplex is ok with that, but it's not so happy w/ the 540x480 res.

BTW, this is my experience from using a SA-tivo

-lloyd-

PcGod718
12-13-2002, 08:42 PM
Originally posted by lmurray
I think mplex expects the split streams to be similiar to the svcd spec. (480x480 1.5-2.0 bitrate etc..etc..) If the mpeg is not "close" then mplex can't make a usable svcd mpeg. If your streams are at a higher bitrate, you'll need to transcode them using a tool like TMPGEnc.

I've tried using the 352x480 res, and mplex is ok with that, but it's not so happy w/ the 540x480 res.

BTW, this is my experience from using a SA-tivo

-lloyd-

Im using a DTIVO, which forces a 480x480 vbr stream
but the only mplex option that seems to work is -F 8 dvd mode.. go figure..

-Pc