PDA

View Full Version : Anyone add a drive after getting the p4 installed?



Jeff_666
01-05-2003, 02:21 AM
I have limited experience in Hu cards, but i have had them unmarried to move one card from one UTV to a tivo, then back. My concern is that i will upgrade my UTV drive with my P4 installed, and somehow the ird will not be the same once the new drive is installed. IF the IRD does not match the one burned on the p4, i will have to pay 20-40 bucks to Dtv to get another "Virgin" p4. I just want to tripple my record time and stay legit.... anyone have experience here?

satchmoe
01-05-2003, 11:30 AM
The ird number does not change when you change drives.
you should be able to upgrade fine.

Jeff_666
01-06-2003, 01:16 AM
thanks for the info

technodude
01-17-2003, 09:09 PM
I installed a Maxtor 120GB model 6Y120L0 drive Sun. Jan. 13 using P4 card with no problems.

gtpalmer
01-18-2003, 02:39 PM
I thought the Maxtor drives were unusable because they didn't have Security feature that the WD drives have?!!?

If the Maxtor drives DO work, I can get one NOW (from Staples), rather than waiting to order a WD drive!

Glenn

technodude
01-20-2003, 10:08 AM
From reading posts on newsgroups and AVSForum I assumed only Western Digital would work. Just for grins I pulled the Maxtor out of my PC and plugged it in my UTV. The drive is 120GB with 2Meg buffer. I just picked another Maxtor 120GB with 8Meg buffer at Best Buy for $99.99 after rebates to put in my PC. If I get ambitious I may try it in my UTV.

==========================
Drive installed in RCA UTV Model DWD490RE.
Install was done Jan 13 with P4 card.

It was previously installed in PC running Win2K and was formatted for NTFS. Prior to UTV install, PC was booted on Win98 floppy and FDISK run to remove all partitions. Drive was left unformatted.

==========================

Info from label on hard drive:

DiamondMax Plus 9
120GB ATA/133 HDD

Code: YAR41WD
N,M,G,D

SN: Y403KTNE

6Y120L0040401

LBA 240121728

MFG: 19SEP2002