PDA

View Full Version : Looking for DVD authoring methods

captain_video
01-30-2003, 11:09 PM
I'm going to try and put together a How-To or a FAQ that addresses the many different methods for extracting, splitting, and authoring DVDs so they can all be assembled in one place. There have been numerous requests for such a document so I figured I'd go ahead and tackle it. I will address several different methods using SpruceUp and IFOEdit.

I'll also try and include some modified tutorials for using the various programs required. I'm familiar with all of the basic ones like Tytool, DVD Patcher, tydemux, SpruceUp, and several others. I think some basic tutorials on TMPGEnc, bbMPEG, BeSweet, and any other programs for muxing, editing, or similar chores would also be desirable.

Since I'm not an expert on all of these programs and know just enough about some of them to hose up a DVD project really well, perhaps I can solicit some of the more knowledgeable members for some input in these areas. Keep in mind that a lot of us may not be as familiar with these programs as you are so try and identify every option, menu, and button-click required to get the job done.

I guess the best course of action would be simply to post the instructions in this thread and I'll try and get it upgraded to a sticky if it looks worthwhile. If your instructions are lengthy or perhaps you'd like to include some screen shots or other graphics, you might want to put it together using Word or other word processor and simply post it as a downloadable test file.

If you've got a method that you prefer, how about sharing it with the rest of us. Check any previous posts to make sure we don't clutter up the thread with a lot of redundant posts, as I'm sure a lot of you use the same procedures for DVD authoring. You might also want to consider including the type of media and burner you use as a measure of compatiblity. Don't forget to include your DVD player model as well.