PDA

View Full Version : ***** needs help with TyTool5



Combat Medic
02-05-2003, 02:12 PM
Alright, I've got TyTool5 installed on my HDVR2. I've got the TiVo talking through a USB adapter to my home network and I can use TiVoWeb 1.9.4 however I can't get TyTool to work right now.
When I run the tool on the PC and I click Refresh I get the following message on my TiVo:


bash-2.02# tserver_mfs
Assuming MFS_DEVICE=/dev/hda10
Waiting for an incomming connection!
SERVER: We got a message! buf = 'SHOWING'
WARNING: couldn't scan startup script /tvlib/tcl/tv/tv.ini
WARNING: eval result : can't read "env(TIVO_ROOT)": no such element in arrayTmk
Assertion Failure:
FsStartFunction, line 141 ()
Tmk Fatal Error: Thread tivosh <236> died due to signal -2
ccfde8 cd031c bd3c50 bc7bf8 bbf014 c1fa98 bf6d78 c41a00 c4522c bbd270 400778 d753d0

And then my TiVo is dead requiring that I pull the plug to bring it back to life. As a note, I haven't done anything to my rc scripts doing everything through a hackinit file. As such to get TiVoWeb to work I have to set three variables before I try to run it: TIVO_ROOT, MFS_DEVICE, and IGNOREEOF.

Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?

-Mike

Combat Medic
02-06-2003, 07:55 PM
Come on, someone please help me. I figured out that I needed to setup and export TIVO_ROOT as NULL and now I'm getting this:


bash-2.02# Assuming MFS_DEVICE=/dev/hda10
Waiting for an incomming connection!
SERVER: We got a message! buf = 'SHOWING'
Tmk Assertion Failure:
FsStartFunction, line 141 ()
Tmk Fatal Error: Thread tivosh <198> died due to signal -2
ccfde8 cd031c bd3c50 bc7bf8 bbf014 c1fa98 bf6d78 c41a00 c4522c bbd270 400778 d753d0


I tried searching and didn't find anything.

-Mike

captain_video
02-06-2003, 08:46 PM
I'm not sure that anyone has gotten tytool to work on a series 2 DTivo yet, although I could be wrong.

Combat Medic
02-06-2003, 08:56 PM
Originally posted by Combat Medic
Come on, someone please help me. I figured out that I needed to setup and export TIVO_ROOT as NULL and now I'm getting this:


bash-2.02# Assuming MFS_DEVICE=/dev/hda10
Waiting for an incomming connection!
SERVER: We got a message! buf = 'SHOWING'
Tmk Assertion Failure:
FsStartFunction, line 141 ()
Tmk Fatal Error: Thread tivosh <198> died due to signal -2
ccfde8 cd031c bd3c50 bc7bf8 bbf014 c1fa98 bf6d78 c41a00 c4522c bbd270 400778 d753d0


I tried searching and didn't find anything.

-Mike
Damn, is there any way to extract video off my HDVR2?

-Mike

keith721
02-06-2003, 09:17 PM
but you have to fall back to other tools like the MIPS version of mfs_export or the mfsstreamweb scripts.

mrblack posted MIPS versions of the mfs_export and mfs_stream binary executables in this thread (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21103) but i believe you've already read that one.

with the mfsstreamweb code, you download the tystream data via your web browser or an automated download manager, then use the vsplit or tydemux programs to convert/split the data into elementary MPEG audio and video streams.

with mfs_export and mfs_stream, you need to use either the nc / netcat tool, or an NFS mounted drive to export the data from the TiVo's MFS database onto your Windoze/Linux system for further processing.

have you tried some or all of these methods, yet? if so, what type of errors or warnings or all-out failures have you seen. jdiner released a working MIPS version of TyTool on the second page of the thread mentioned above. don't take the first one you find, that was a debug version. go down several more messages, and he posted what should be working MIPS version of tserver_mfs5.

good luck !!

keith721

Combat Medic
02-06-2003, 09:52 PM
OK, I tried the Web extraction setup. I disable scrambling with:
/var/hack/extract/kmem 800b23b4 00001021
And the stream is shown as be about 77meg on the TiVo but is save as 0 on my computer. Any ideas?

-Mike

captain_video
02-06-2003, 09:59 PM
If the extracted files are showing up as 0 bytes then you haven't disabled scrambling.

Combat Medic
02-06-2003, 10:01 PM
Originally posted by captain_video
If the extracted files are showing up as 0 bytes then you haven't disabled scrambling.
OK, have we verified that the above kmem command will disable scrambling? Is there a better way to disable it in a series 2 DirecTiVo?

-Mike

Combat Medic
02-07-2003, 10:22 PM
Alright, I've gotten a TV show off my TiVo. Now, what is the best way to get it so I can view it? All I need is to be able to view these on a computer, I have no need for standalone viewing. I'd prefer an automatic script if at all possible.

Thanks for all the help