PDA

View Full Version : just got HDVR2 unit with 3.1.0-01-2-151

yellaboyla
03-08-2003, 09:58 AM
I am a newbie, and have been reading alot. I would be willing to share this image. This image has not been plugged into phone line or activated.

I just plugged into sat, get previews...now i am ready to hack..

1. would like to use my HU card in unit

2. Dont care about increasing storage space at this time

3. want to enable usb ethernet since I am networked

4. i have created both boot cds......

5. any other fun stuff u guys know of.

So if u help me, i will share....

"i will share anyways!!"

I can post image to FTP or share it out .....thx

yellaboyla
03-11-2003, 11:11 PM
Got HDVR2 from ebay for 175.00..came with everything but P4 card.

Finally got U5 image. Backed up my original config with MFStools 2.0.

Pulled extra 100gig WD 100gig drive from my server.

Getting ready to take my first shot at upgrading..

wish me luck!

ghstrdr5
03-11-2003, 11:45 PM
Good Luck, let us know how it goes, what hacks are you going to try?

yellaboyla
03-12-2003, 08:10 AM
Well this is what I'd like to do;

1. usb ethernet-buying adaptor today
2. video transfer to my pc to make dvds
3. have unit work with subbed P-3 card instead of buying a P-4 from DirectTV
4. and few other secret tweaks once I figure out how to do um!

Anybody can tell me how to make a U5 image allow a P-3 insertion?

yellaboyla
03-12-2003, 09:34 AM
Got U5 image expanded.
The new message says 'New estimated standalone size: 102 hours (63 more) success!! :)

Since I have this drive in a Linux amchine, I will go ahead a work on a few things. Won't get a chance to test it tell lunch. :mad:

mrblack51
03-12-2003, 10:54 AM
Originally posted by yellaboyla
Anybody can tell me how to make a U5 image allow a P-3 insertion?