PDA

View Full Version : Interested in Tivo but Need Advice

myriadcorp
03-28-2003, 12:16 AM
After much thought I have decided I want to add a DVR Tivo unit to my entertainment center. Currently I have a HU DTV subscription. I do not have any knowledge of Tivo systems. My goal is to purchase the best system that will allow me to transfer my HU Sub card from my existing IRD to a Tivo/SAT unit. Or add a stand alone Tivo unit that previously had a lifetime subscription.

There are several types of Tivo units available. I have been reading there are many types of software versions and Series two units. However, I am still confused about what would work in my situation.

Can someone please recommend the best Tivo unit that would suit my needs above? Or suggest an alternative plan that would be better than my goal above. I don't know if a stand alone or combo unit would be best. Any help on this matter would be appreciated. Currently I am looking on ebay for a used unit to purchase.

captain_video
03-28-2003, 08:22 AM
Firts, I'd like to congratulate you for making a wise choice in adding a DVR to your home entertainment system. I used tohave as many as 3 S-VHS VCRs running simultaneously in my system. I haven't used a VCR in almost 2 years ever since I purchased my first DVR (a SA Tivo).

DTV won't transfer subbed access cards between receivers. If you subscribe with a DirecTivo, DTV will send you a P4 card and most likely update all your other receivers you have subbed with P4 cards as well. For some reason DTV has targeted DTivo owners as being among the first to be victims of the card swapout. There have been scattered reports but it is unlikely that DTV will sub any new receivers, especially DTivos, with Hu cards.