PDA

View Full Version : FYI Dtivo --> DVD pretty easy method

blax
04-03-2003, 04:56 AM
I just wanted to share my experience in getting video from my Dtivo to a DVD as frankly it's been a long hard road and although I'm still a novice I have learned allot maybe someone can benifit and save some headaches. Here is the process I have been using.

1. Tystudio B2 - Grab shows using the DVD + AC3 settings, cut commercials if you feel like it
2. Nero Vision Express w MPEG2 encoder- yes it transcodes the vid, but it is a relativly small increase in file size that is right on par with how much vid a "normal" DVD holds and the best part is you get real DVD resolution so most stand alones won't balk at it. I then "burn" the DVD to a directory in vision.
3. Burn with Nero DVD UDF 1.02 setting. The reason I don't just burn it in nero vision is simple, 1. I want to test it with windvd first 2. nero vision dosen't burn a udf 1.02 disc, in fact I don't know what it burns but it won't play in my stand alone toshiba player or on the Xbox.

This is just my take on things, using this method I get a very good quality disc that has played on every player that will read a DVDR that I have been able to find. If anyone has a better / quicker way of doing this I am all ears, as I said just trying to share my experience.

04-03-2003, 10:35 AM
Another easy method also from DTivo
1) Use tystudio, edit, output to elemental streams no audio transcoding. If you use tyindex and tyserver this takes only a minute or 2 of user time.

2) Use Ifoedit to create the VOB/title set. Again this step only takes a few seconds of user time.

3) Use Nero to burn the DVD.

This works best if you're trying to archive a movie or one or 2 shows on a DVD.
You'll have to use other programs if you're looking for menus and other extras.

Pete Ruttman
04-03-2003, 11:50 AM
Can ifoedit handle multiple shows yet compiled for burning onto one DVD?