PDA

View Full Version : My (not quite there yet) HDVR2 hacking...



d7o
04-05-2003, 01:36 PM
I've followed the instructions in Mr Black's thread and the thread he links to at tivocommunity.

Here's where I'm at:

I installed a new 160 gig hd with the U5 image and followed all of the instructions for getting the bash prompt. However when I reboot, no bash. I've tested and retested my serial cable ( even shorting the tip and ring of the 1/8" phono and correctly saw the text i typed in hyperterm).

I'm experienced in linux so I thought that I did everything correctly.

Everything else works mostly like normal except recording. It isn't recording movies (although i can pause live tv). It says that I'm getting error #53 and to try rebooting (I have, no difference).

I still have my original drive untouched. :)

Any suggestions? I'll probably be redoing the drive in a few minutes to see if that might correct the problem.

duo

mrblack51
04-05-2003, 02:18 PM
Originally posted by d7o
I've followed the instructions in Mr Black's thread and the thread he links to at tivocommunity.

Here's where I'm at:

I installed a new 160 gig hd with the U5 image and followed all of the instructions for getting the bash prompt. However when I reboot, no bash. I've tested and retested my serial cable ( even shorting the tip and ring of the 1/8" phono and correctly saw the text i typed in hyperterm).

I'm experienced in linux so I thought that I did everything correctly.

Everything else works mostly like normal except recording. It isn't recording movies (although i can pause live tv). It says that I'm getting error #53 and to try rebooting (I have, no difference).

I still have my original drive untouched. :)

Any suggestions? I'll probably be redoing the drive in a few minutes to see if that might correct the problem.

duo

two things:
1) last i checked, 137GB drives were the largest ones that are supported by the tivo. 160s have been known to cause problems
2) when you restore an image from another unit, you will get error #51. you will need to use 'clear and delete everything' to clear the issue.

d7o
04-05-2003, 02:41 PM
Thanks for the info. I redid the instructions and realized I stored my genromfs image to /dev/hdc15 instead of /dev/hdc16. Oops. I've got bash!

Still got the error #51. I'm doing a 'clear and delete everything' to take care of the problem.

Thanks

d7o
04-05-2003, 02:43 PM
One more question:

Does clear and delete everything clear out /var/hack (not that I couldn't put it back if it does)?

Thanks,
duo

mrblack51
04-05-2003, 03:02 PM
Originally posted by d7o
One more question:

Does clear and delete everything clear out /var/hack (not that I couldn't put it back if it does)?

nope, clear and delete everything doesnt touch the filesystem...just messes with the mfs

mrblack51
04-05-2003, 04:19 PM
Originally posted by d7o
Thanks for the info. I redid the instructions and realized I stored my genromfs image to /dev/hdc15 instead of /dev/hdc16.

could you send me the output of a cat /proc/partitions after using the mfsrestore -xzpi -s 127 ...? thanks

d7o
04-05-2003, 04:39 PM
Originally posted by mrblack51
could you send me the output of a cat /proc/partitions after using the mfsrestore -xzpi -s 127 ...? thanks

3 0 134217727 hda
3 1 31 hda1
3 2 2048 hda2
3 3 2048 hda3
3 4 131072 hda4
3 5 0 hda5
3 6 4096 hda6
3 7 131072 hda7
3 8 130048 hda8
3 9 131072 hda9
3 10 524288 hda10
3 11 16494080 hda11
3 12 524288 hda12
3 13 22011392 hda13
3 14 512 hda14
3 15 94130176 hda15
3 16 1503 hda16

This is from the drive after I used hda16. Everything does seem to be working now.

d7o
04-06-2003, 04:17 PM
Well, I've been happily hacking away at my hdvr2.

I've found, most unfortunately, that the usb ethernet adapter I bought does not work. It doesn't even work with linux. Its a linksys usb200m. I guess its going back to CompUSA. :)

On another note, does anyone know how to get osd to work on hdvr2? I'm mostly trying to get elseed to work. When it tries to open mpeg0v, i get back the error Device or Resource Busy.

I get the same error from osdtxt and when I try and run 'osdwriter flames.png' i get the message:
Could not open GFX Device!!!
Broadcom library internal error

Thanks

geowar
06-06-2003, 08:34 PM
I've only seen text2osd source for the series one's. I have an text2osd for series two but no source. Here's a strace output:

[BEGIN]
$> strace text2osd < Makefile

execve("/tvbin/text2osd", ["text2osd"], [/* 18 vars */]) = 0
uname({sys="Linux", node="(none)", ...}) = 0
brk(0) = 0x10000a70
open("/etc/ld.so.preload", O_RDONLY) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/etc/ld.so.cache", O_RDONLY) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/lib/libm.so.6", O_RDONLY) = 4
read(4, "\177ELF\1\2\1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\3\0\10\0\0\0\1\0\0F\260"..., 1024) = 1024
fstat64(4, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0755, st_size=598335, ...}) = 0
old_mmap(NULL, 805152, PROT_READ|PROT_EXEC, MAP_PRIVATE, 4, 0) = 0x2ab05000
mprotect(0x2ab8a000, 260384, PROT_NONE) = 0
old_mmap(0x2abc9000, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED, 4, 0x84000) = 0x2abc9000
close(4) = 0
open("/lib/libc.so.6", O_RDONLY) = 4
read(4, "\177ELF\1\2\1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\3\0\10\0\0\0\1\0\1\\"..., 1024) = 1024
fstat64(4, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0755, st_size=1627886, ...}) = 0
old_mmap(NULL, 1696720, PROT_READ|PROT_EXEC, MAP_PRIVATE, 4, 0) = 0x2abca000
mprotect(0x2ad1d000, 308176, PROT_NONE) = 0
old_mmap(0x2ad5c000, 32768, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED, 4, 0x152000) = 0x2ad5c000
old_mmap(0x2ad64000, 17360, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x2ad64000
close(4) = 0
getpid() = 290
old_mmap(NULL, 258048, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x2aac4000
fstat64(0, {st_mode=S_IFREG|0644, st_size=1171, ...}) = 0
old_mmap(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x2ad69000
read(0, "PROG\t\t= osdtxt\nSOURCE\t\t= $(PROG)"..., 4096) = 1171
close(0) = 0
munmap(0x2ad69000, 4096) = 0
brk(0) = 0x10000a70
brk(0x10000a90) = 0x10000a90
brk(0x10001000) = 0x10001000
open("/dev/bcmgfx", O_RDWR|O_SYNC) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc0106214, 0x7fff7c08) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc008625a, 0x7fff7c20) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc01462c1, 0x7fff7c10) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc0084200, 0x7fff7b98) = 0
ioctl(0, 0x40084262, 0x7fff7b98) = 0
old_mmap(NULL, 5636096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, 0, 0x1aa0000) = 0x2ad6c000
ioctl(0, 0xc00c62d9, 0x7fff7c08) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc00c62d2, 0x7fff7c18) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc00c62c6, 0x7fff7c18) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc00c62cf, 0x7fff7c18) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc00c62ce, 0x7fff7c18) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc00862c4, 0x7fff7c20) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc00c62e6, 0x7fff7c18) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc0086217, 0x7fff7c20) = 0
close(0) = 0
exit(0) = ?
[END]

So it appears that the series two's use the "/dev/bcmgfx" device:

open("/dev/bcmgfx", O_RDWR|O_SYNC) = 0
ioctl(0, 0xc00c62d9, 0x7fff7c08) = 0
.
.
.
close(0) = 0

I've search all my source (on disk & web) for "bcmgfx" but noluck.

devnull
07-28-2003, 03:17 AM
I found some press releases from last year announcing that Broadcom's 7020 and 7040 chips would be used in Series2.

Now, unfortunately, I can't find a bcm7020 driver anywhere but on one guy's resume :mad:

gary

David Bought
07-28-2003, 10:38 AM
Originally posted by devnull
I found some press releases from last year announcing that Broadcom's 7020 and 7040 chips would be used in Series2.

Now, unfortunately, I can't find a bcm7020 driver anywhere but on one guy's resume :mad:

gary

What's /lib/modules/brcmdrv-rb.o?

ronnythunder
10-27-2003, 12:52 PM
sorry to dredge up an old thread, but was there ever a resolution to the "Could not open GFX Device" thing? i get it on both 3.1.0 and 3.1.1b boxes on anything i try to display at the command line, yet the splash screen seems to work when the machine boots.

edit: ok, duh, the "-share" arg is the key.
osdwriter foo.png -share

ronny

TheWickedPriest
10-27-2003, 03:21 PM
It's only after myworld is running that "-share" is needed; that's why it works without it from rc.sysinit.

The Linksys USB 200m does work (and the driver, written by Tivo, has been contributed back to mainstream Linux), but you have to have the right driver. It comes with the kernel used in 4.0, but not in 3.1, IIRC. Look for the "USB drivers" thread for a backported version.