PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE Help! They want to charge me $162!!!! Repeated Keypresses.



ShawnM
04-18-2003, 01:29 PM
I woke up this morning and sat down in front of my tivo. I hit the List button to pull up now playing then tapped DOWN arrow to scroll down 1 show. My tivo repeated the each keypress over and over. In this example I hit down arrow once, and it kept going down down down down down till it hit the bottom of the list. At that point it starts buzzing like i'm TRYING to go below the bottom of the list. But I had only pressed the remote control button once.

This occurs EVEN if I remove the batteries from the remote. It'll still continue doing this.

I called Sony tech support and they told me to power the machine off for a full minute and plug it back in. Once I did that the tivo comes up and says 'Your record is starting up, please wait a moment...' and does not get past that screen. I've waited a long long time for it to.

I had just purchased this tivo used (that's how I could afford it) and NOW sony wants to charge me $160 to fix it (That's how much I paid for the darn thing).

I would be insanely appreciative if someone could help me with this problem. If it's just a matter of buying a new harddrive, imaging it, and slapping it in there then i'd much rather spend my money upgrading my tivo's capacity than just paying sony to do a flat fee fix on it to get a measely 90 day warranty.

I was so looking forward to getting this unit, and I configured it last night and scrolled through the entire show list to generate season passes, and i wake up, go to look at the yoga class my wife wanted recorded and discover it's broken.

I have a Sony SVR-2000 with a 30 gig harddrive.

ShawnM
04-18-2003, 01:39 PM
After screwing with it a bit more. (Pulling it out of it's place in the entertainment center, poking around etc) It seemed to boot up ok. I'm STILL having the problem where the remote's keypressed get repeated though. Anyone have any idea?

ShawnM
04-18-2003, 02:58 PM
Rather than pay sony 160 i opened my unit up. I blew out the dust and reseated all the connections. Which made the unit power up properly..

Then... the keypress problem... I just took the front faceplate off and covered the left ir receiver with a dark plastic.

Ta da. Thanks anyway guys.

JohnFrancis
04-18-2003, 02:58 PM
Try another remote ... if you get the same problem then it seems your Tivo is screwed...

ShawnM
04-19-2003, 02:24 PM
Actually, i just followed the procedures I laid out in my previous post and it fixed all the problems. Thanks though.

groundhog
04-24-2003, 05:08 PM
I had this same exact problem once, and like Shawn, I was totally convinced that it had nothing to do with the remote. After going into a reboot loop, I unpluged it for 24 hours. It's worked fine ever since.

ShawnM
04-24-2003, 06:50 PM
If it ever comes back, just cover up the ir transmitter with plastic. Cures it empirically.