PDA

View Full Version : TyServer errors



Kelly
04-19-2003, 02:13 AM
TyServer will not make the necessary entries into the rc.sysinit file. Looking at the error messages it looks like the script is trying to enter "/var/TyServer.ppc.sh" into it. That does not make sense since that is the file that is used to install to line(s) into rc.sysinit file.

Can I manually enter the line(s) in the rc.sysinit file? That would be great since I have to enter a line manually for Tivoweb.

Does anybody know what "/var/TyServer.ppc.sh" is trying to added to the rc.sysinit file?

I think this will solve all my problems.

Thanks!!

Kelly
04-19-2003, 05:47 AM
Update:

I found the lines that needed to be added to the rc.sysinit file. I was able to get the new rc.sysinit file ftp'd over to the tivo drive. BUT! it would only go into my /hack directory. I could not ftp it to my /etc/rc.d directory on my tivo drive to replace the existing one.

I can not modify it, copy it, move it, ftp to it and mod the permissions of it.

For now I must manually start tivoweb and Tyserver. Is there a way around this?

Thanks!

JJBliss
04-19-2003, 09:05 AM
Originally posted by Kelly
Update:

I found the lines that needed to be added to the rc.sysinit file. I was able to get the new rc.sysinit file ftp'd over to the tivo drive. BUT! it would only go into my /hack directory. I could not ftp it to my /etc/rc.d directory on my tivo drive to replace the existing one.

I can not modify it, copy it, move it, ftp to it and mod the permissions of it.

For now I must manually start tivoweb and Tyserver. Is there a way around this?

Thanks!

try this to make the drives writable...

mount -o remount,rw /


then do it all again....

See what happens

Kelly
04-19-2003, 02:36 PM
Originally posted by JJBliss
try this to make the drives writable...

mount -o remount,rw /


then do it all again....

See what happens


Super! That did allow me to ftp the new rc.sysinit over the old.

Before I do anything else....
Do I need to issue a reverse command to put the permission back as they were? Looks like the x's were removed from the permissions.

Do I have to unmount?

Thanks!

Kelly
04-19-2003, 03:45 PM
Originally posted by JJBliss
try this to make the drives writable...

mount -o remount,rw /


then do it all again....

See what happens


Now Tivo won't boot!!

JJBliss
04-19-2003, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by Kelly
Now Tivo won't boot!!

This can be caused by a plethora of problems:

- permissions on the rc.sysinit

- proper format of the file (Unix .vs. DOS), since you said you transfered it from the PC

- improper transfer method (should be binary NOT ascii)

- improper command or syntax in the rc.sysinit

- missing ampersand (&) preventing process spawning

- anything else that could go wrong independant of anything else

Most certainly, it has nothing to do with the remounting of your drive as read/write.

You need to check all the above at a minimum.

JJ

Kelly
04-19-2003, 06:07 PM
I go over your list to see if I can figure out what happened.

I just put the tivo drive back in my PC and took a look at it. I can get to /mnt4 and /mnt9. However, under /mnt4 I have /etc/rc.d but under /mnt9 there is no /rc.d so there are no files.

Could this be the problem? If so, is there a way for me to copy from /mnt4 to /mnt9 ?

While I'm thinking about it, is there a way to backup my Wishlist? If I end up restoring from my backup CD I really don't want to end up re-entering my wishlist. :-)

Thanks!!




Originally posted by JJBliss
This can be caused by a plethora of problems:
<edited>
You need to check all the above at a minimum.

JJ

Kelly
04-20-2003, 11:06 PM
I'm up and running again! I want to comment on your list of possible problems so others can get feedback. I don't want others to reply 100% on my comments since this was my first and only time I'll do this hack. :-)


Originally posted by JJBliss
This can be caused by a plethora of problems:

- permissions on the rc.sysinit

Comment - This is and was my suspicion. Not
sure. Believe I corrupted my
rc.sysinit file


- proper format of the file (Unix .vs. DOS), since you said you transfered it from the PC

Comment - True! But I did use the DOS2Unix.exe
to convert it back before ftp'ing
back to tivo. Once I was up and
running again I examined my
rc.sysinit file and found each line
ending with "M". I used "joe" to
edit and remove and properly format
the file.

- improper transfer method (should be binary NOT ascii)

Comment - I was in binary. No question there.


- improper command or syntax in the rc.sysinit

Comment - Very possible since I cut and
pasted the commands from a post
on this message board. I did not
take into consideration the order
of these items so the & sign might
have been an issue. I strongly believe
it was. I followed yet another
set of instruction suggesting I
create a rc.sysinit.author file
as opposed to editing the rc.sysinit
file. This was a great suggestion!


- missing ampersand (&) preventing process spawning

Comment - Possible!!


- anything else that could go wrong independant of anything else

Comment - Murphy's Law???


- Most certainly, it has nothing to do with the remounting of your drive as read/write.

Comment - Someplace I read I could corrupt my data if I didn'e do
a "mount -o remount,ro /" I did
discover that I was not typing
the "/". That was one of many
typos I made during this process. :-)


- You need to check all the above at a minimum.

Comment - I'd like to suggest one have
patients when doing this if they
don't know Lunix. It wasn't hard to
under stand but it was hard to keep
track of all the steps and what I had
done vs. what I had to do and with
one little typo I could kill tivo.
:-) It was a nice intro to Linux.

Also, I had trouble installing "joe"
and on one instruction sheet they
suggested I use a specific FTP program
that didn't work. So I ended up using
the command prompt, ftp and "put". That
was a big help!!


Thanks for the Help!!