PDA

View Full Version : SVR-2000 Problem (green screen)

Gostal
04-22-2003, 12:43 AM
I have both a Dtivo (200+hours & 25xtreme) and an older SVR-2000. I have a lifetime subscription on both. Lately, my Sony SVR-2000 seems to be dying. Upon powerup, after getting to the "welcome screen, powering up, please wait..." I get the famous "green screen" saying not to do anything while it tries to fix itself.

I called Sony, and after performing a few basic steps, they told me that the hard drive is probably at fault.

From what I recall, since it is out of warranty, I would need some $$ to repait the unit.

I bought a new hard drive, and decided to upgrade this unit. I believe that in adding a new hard drive, one of the steps involves a diagnostic test. I was hoping this would fix my problem. In doing this, The drive seems to work fine when I have it placed in my computer, but when I return it to the tivo, again the "green" screen.

Should I try to format the hard drive? Are there diagnostic test out there to check this hard drive,so that I can confirm that it is the hard drive?

If not, should I just use the new drive I bought? If so, should I use the same backup image, or should I look for one on the internet?

Thanks, any suggestions will be appreciated,
Gostal

captain_video
04-22-2003, 08:44 AM