PDA

View Full Version : Which Direct-Tivo?

UNIXhacker
04-22-2003, 03:05 AM
I have been reading the forums here and on tivocommunity for the last few weeks trying to decide what Direct-Tivo unit to get. Here are my goals:

1. Get network access, bash, and Tivoweb so I can pull off content from the Tivo.
2. Get fixsub (and lifetime subscription) working so I donít have to have a phone line hooked up.
3. Use my existing HU card.

It looks like both the series 1 and series 2 will do this, the series 1 might be easier though. I am very confident with UNIX, I have been using it for 8 years now.

What are the advantages to the series 2? From my reading it sounds like the guide is faster, which is a plus for me. I have also read about audio problems on the series 2, this might be fixed in 3.2 or later but I would lose my bash if I went to that version and I donít want to do that.

So, based on all that what would you recommend for me, a series 1 or series 2? And then what model? I have heard of heat issues with the Sony T-60. Then were would you recommend a buy a unit without having to be committed a long contract.

Comments? Please correct me where I am wrong.

Thanks for your help,

mrblack51
04-22-2003, 03:21 AM
short answer: unless you are looking for a challenge, stick with the s1 units. it you just want to watch tv, get an s1. if you want working extraction and dvd burning type stuff now, get an s1. if you can't follow directions and/or learn independantly based on the direction provided here, then get an s1.

all s1 dtivos are the same except for the remote and the case (sat-t60, dsr6000, gxcebot).

long answer: