PDA

View Full Version : Low Tech Extraction

rbrown3rd
05-02-2003, 09:37 AM
I love all the techy solutions posted here but my low tech system provides extremely nice quality copies and is very simple. I use an S-Video out for video and RCA cables for audio. I capture the video on my DV camcorder. I can then use my firewire connection into my computer to upload the DV file. I can edit the file, remove commercials, etc. and then I use my computer to burn DVDs or VCDs. The quality is quite nice and saves me from all of the headaches of hacking into my Tivo.

I have been an IT professional for more years than many of you have been alive. I LOVE techy stuff and hacking but this system gives such good quality for such a low investment of time and energy that it seemed the way to go to me. I really admire all of the methods that everyone has come up with to grab the original files and that would obviously give the ultimate in quality.

Bob

Fugg
05-02-2003, 10:40 AM
Originally posted by rbrown3rd
I LOVE techy stuff and hacking but this system gives such good quality for such a low investment of time and energy that it seemed the way to go to me.

Cool! I'm glad you've found something that works for you.

Other than the quality, the thing that keeps me doing the "techy stuff and hacking" route of getting video off my tivo's is that I can extract while the family's watching something else.

They are not even aware that I'm doing it.

...and I never have to hear:

"You've still got an hour left to record on your movie?!??!?!? But I wanna watch Sponge Bob RIGHT NOW!!!!!

;)

and btw, there are a few babyboomers here too. were not all younguns!

captain_video
05-02-2003, 10:41 AM