PDA

View Full Version : After Hacks, Tivo locks up, I must unplug to reboot....

Kelly
05-09-2003, 01:46 PM
Tivo was running fine after performing the upgrades but rescently I now experience lockups after Tivos been running for 24 hours but before it reaches 48 hours of uptime. I did notice 4 days ago that playback had frequent 1 to 2 second freezes.

Any ideas?

Kelly

(SA USA unit runing v3.0)
(TivoWeb and TyStudio, installed and running fine)
(Tivo is getting updates over turbonet fine)

Dave-TiVo
05-10-2003, 01:29 PM
I'm definitely no expert; in fact, I'm a newbie to Video Extraction. :)

I believe there may be some problems with running tyserver/tyindex on TiVo. I know when I tried running it, my TiVo locked up solid after only 4 hours. I know other people have been having similar problems (with tyindex I suspect).

I switched to using the TiVoweb mfsstream module to download Ty-Streams, and it works like a charm.

Dave

Kelly
05-10-2003, 03:06 PM
Originally posted by Dave-TiVo
I'm definitely no expert; in fact, I'm a newbie to Video Extraction. :)

I believe there may be some problems with running tyserver/tyindex on TiVo. I know when I tried running it, my TiVo locked up solid after only 4 hours. I know other people have been having similar problems (with tyindex I suspect).

I switched to using the TiVoweb mfsstream module to download Ty-Streams, and it works like a charm.

Dave

Dave,

I was thinking it might be TyIndex too since the lock ups have been while Tivo is unattended. The lock ups can occure while transferring data but those seem to clear quickly and don't require a reboot. Tivo has been very sluggish since the Ty hacks. TivoWeb is working great so I'll look into TivoWeb mfsStream.

Thanks!

Kelly
05-14-2003, 04:18 PM
Originally posted by Kelly