PDA

View Full Version : HDVR2 with 160GB Hard Drive???



tivosohn
05-22-2003, 02:30 PM
I have read on some thread mentioning they have a 160GB installed into their HDVR2. And I also heard the max is 120GB one can install into those units.

I am thinking of upgrading my HDVR2 to 160GB single drive. Anyone know whether that's possible or not? If it is, will there be any draw back or bad side-effects?

Any input is appreciated.
Thanks.
:confused:

SR712
05-22-2003, 02:45 PM
I believe that all that this version of linux can address is 137GB. So all that you will be able to use is 137GB of the 160GB drive. Still, its more than 120GB... :)

tivosohn
05-22-2003, 03:58 PM
Wow, what a waste. That's a 23GB of space sitting there collecting dust. What a bummer. Anyway, thanks.

alldeadhomiez
05-22-2003, 06:18 PM
Originally posted by tivosohn
Wow, what a waste. That's a 23GB of space sitting there collecting dust. What a bummer. Anyway, thanks.

If you run 3.1u5, you have root access to your TiVo. The only thing standing between you and the full use of your 160GB drive is a small investment of time.

Check out this thread and any other posts by Todd Miller. It's hardly a HOWTO but at least it should get you thinking about what you need to do to port the lba48 fix to the HDVR2.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?threadid=83342&highlight=lba48

TheDoctor
05-24-2003, 08:41 AM
Series 1's are limited to 138gb bu ata33 controller.
]
The standalone series 2 does not have a size limit. I would be suprised if the HDVR2 does as they would have had to build it in.

To do the upgrade you will need a pc with one of the most recent versions of linux that supports ata166, and if I recall just use MFStools to format the drive. You can do it with an install CD but it is not pretty.

A few months ago I set up a machine with a 120gb and a 250gb drive and tested it by recording 24/7 for two months on a single channel at the lowest bit rate to verify that I was not going to get any database errors or anything. Tivo reports 428 hours available and I verified the system could hold roughly 18 days of 24/7 data.

alldeadhomiez
05-24-2003, 12:51 PM
Originally posted by TheDoctor
A few months ago I set up a machine with a 120gb and a 250gb drive and tested it by recording 24/7 for two months on a single channel at the lowest bit rate to verify that I was not going to get any database errors or anything. Tivo reports 428 hours available and I verified the system could hold roughly 18 days of 24/7 data.

I was under the impression that the 2.4.4-TiVo kernel that is in the 3.1 and 3.2 software does not support LBA48. Later versions might, but they are not available for the HDVR2 yet (and getting a newer kernel to work with TiVo's slew of binary-only kernel modules could be a hassle).

Anyone up for figuring out how to inject a new IDE driver into a running kernel? :) The global spinlock is your friend.

TheDoctor
05-24-2003, 06:40 PM
2.2.x linux did not support lb48 without a patch. 2.4.x linux does IF the hardware supports it. The link you pointed to in your previous post discussed trying to get a series 1 tivo to support lb48.

alldeadhomiez
05-24-2003, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by TheDoctor
2.2.x linux did not support lb48 without a patch. 2.4.x linux does IF the hardware supports it. The link you pointed to in your previous post discussed trying to get a series 1 tivo to support lb48.

Were you running 2.4.18 (tivo sw 4.0)?

I don't know who this "Robert S" guy is but he seems fairly adamant that as of February, there was no kernel for the series2 that handled large drives. (And since 4.0 is off limits for combo box owners, we're stuck with 2.4.4.)

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?postid=929728&highlight=lba48#post929728

TheDoctor
05-27-2003, 07:11 PM
You can check the tivo kernal site to verify just what version started supporting ata166. Thinking back it may have been later than 2.4.0 but did support it by 2.4.4. THe version my series 2 is running is Linux version 2.4.4-TiVo-3.0 (build@buildmaster8) (gcc version 3.0)


Tivo Software version 3.2.0-01-2-240

Rober S. also states that you cannot modify tivo software. He does make the point that the thread that has been repeatedely refeerenced in this thread is refering to series ONE boxes. Further Robert S. has a UK tivo.