PDA

View Full Version : Documentation???

Just4Fun
06-02-2003, 01:49 PM
Jdiner: First, excellent work. I bought my DirecTiVo (Sony T-60) a couple of years ago but just recently added TivoNet and TivoWeb. I printed some of the main threads (132 and 120 pages long among others) on extraction and read them on various flights. It just dawned on me the other day, with this thread, that there are two, ummm, competing products. I choose to not have an opinion on either. I've read your stuff from the beginning though and have a great deal of respect for the work you've done and the insight you've gleaned.

That said I have a complaint or perhaps a question. I find a distinct lack of documentation on installing and working with your program(s). So, have I missed something obvious? If so, point me to it (someone, not Jdiner). If I've not missed it then I'd like to volunteer to fix that. I'm not a programmer so can't really help on that front but I've a couple of decades in computers and a half dozen with Linux.

I would envision something with a real quick "getting started" section, a brief set of steps that would get the average user up and running quickly. That would be followed by more detail with greater latitude and more choices or options. Finally probably a glossary of terms and technical definitions.

One thing I like about your approach is that it's fairly modular - one function, one program - with the ability to use whatever "modules" you'd like (more or less).

If you're interested and think this would help please let me know and we can go offline (if you'd like) and make sure I conform to your expectations. If not... keep up the good work and I'll see you on the boards :-)

captain_video
06-02-2003, 03:23 PM