PDA

View Full Version : Problem With HDVR2 setup

superg
06-08-2003, 09:56 PM
I am new to Tivo and this site so go easy on me.:cool:

I have followed the steps by Ingineer exactly, but when i get to step 14 is where the trouble starts.

It should spit out "root=/dev/hda7" which confirms the TiVo’s active root partition is 7, so that makes the VAR mount point at 9. Lets now mount the var partition by typing:
mount /dev/hdc9 /mnt/tivo

I got the root=/dev/hda7, but when i try to do the "mount /dev/hdc9 /mnt/tivo " all i get is
"looks like swap space-not mounted. You must specify file type"

I tried two different computers and have read everything i could find, but i can't get past this issue.

Thanks
superg

chazman
06-08-2003, 10:31 PM
I'm betting that you have your PC setup so that your Tivo Drive is not setup as hdc

Check which letter your Tivo drive is assigned during bootup (using SHIFT-PageUp) and change your mount to that drive

So it should read:

mount /dev/hdX9 /mnt/tivo

the X is the letter of the drive assigned to your Tivo drive.

Chaz

superg
06-08-2003, 10:39 PM
That was the first thing i looked at.

This is my setup.

Fat32 drive= hda <-----Primary Master
cd_rom = hdb <-----Primary Slave
Tivo drive = hdc <-----Secondary Master

Got any other ideas? I'm up for trying anything at this point. LOL:cool:

mckitrick
06-09-2003, 02:01 AM
What Boot CD are you using?

Did you restore properly as in step 12?
mfsrestore -s 127 -xzpi /mnt/c/tivo-s2.bak /dev/hdc

superg
06-09-2003, 01:57 PM
Using the Johnnydeath boot cd. Did step 12 correctly, but my image is the 3.1.0-01-2-151. I downloaded the 3.1U5 image that mrBlack51 gave a link to. I tried the "mount /dev/hdc9 /mnt/tivo " on the 3.1U5 and on my 3.1.0-01-2-151, but get the same results.

mckitrick
06-09-2003, 05:41 PM
Have you tried it with a different hard drive?
I know you tried two different comps so it's not likely to be something wacky like a bad IDE cable, etc.

Yammer
06-11-2003, 10:54 PM
Superg,