PDA

View Full Version : Possible Solution to Auto-Cutting Commercials.

willieb
06-18-2003, 10:40 PM
Ok, let me start by saying that I have been mulling this one over for 13 months now. I wanted to try and create a program to do this myself, but my skills are limited, and while I have been learning a lot of programming, I just can’t wait any longer and all the tools seem to be sitting out there. My job is non-computer-related, and I typically work about 13-14 hours a day, which does not leave much time for programming. My guess is that JDiner, Cwingert, Riley and the Tivo PHP guru (Enigma, I think) could have this working in a matter of days. I have always had an aversion to asking someone to write a program for me, but I think this idea really contributes, and I encourage everyone to ignore me if you disagree. Other solutions for commercial cutting (like looking for black frames) seem to be iffy, and I think this solution is at least a little less iffy (at least for Prime Time shows). So here goes.

Thumbnail sketch: My idea is a central database online that, for any given show, keeps track of which frame each commercial break starts on and which frame it ends on. Think of it as a “CDDB” for commercials. We are all cutting commercials out to make Divx files or to go to DVD, so why duplicate each other’s efforts? If we can get Josh or Riley or Cwingert (or any one of them) to integrate it into their proggies like CDDB is in Winamp, for example, all of our workflows will get shorter. Commercial cutting is the most time-consuming aspect of my flow right now.