PDA

View Full Version : SA Series 2 extraction?



frivera28
06-20-2003, 12:16 PM
Is it possible.
Where can I find info.

Also has anyone created a dvd from the Series 2 Stand alone unit

Fugg
06-20-2003, 01:05 PM
SA Series 2 extraction?

Yes, it's possible. I don't own one myself, but i've been passed a ty or two from guys with series 2 boxes.

First, you need to mod the tivo to be able to get a bash prompt. There's a whole forum here dedicated to series 2 hacking. The Series 2 Hacking Forum (http://dealdatabase.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?forumid=38)

Once you've done that, you'll need a tivo-side server to access the ty files. Here's jdiner's HDVR2 MIPS compiled version of the tserver_mfs6 for series2 (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=84669). I think that it'll work on the standalone's as well. (somebody want to check me on that?)

You'll need a NowShowing.tcl file for a series 2 or someway to get the fsid's for the ty's.

Anybody know of such a beastie? ...or how to get them?

I know you can with a modded tivoweb, but I don't even know if it's working on a series 2 yet.

I'm considering getting one of these buggers to play with. It's just too damn simple to do on a series 1 these days.....;)

frivera28
06-20-2003, 01:41 PM
thanks for the reply Fugg.

I might just buy a Series 1 because it seems like it is an easier path for a newbie