PDA

View Full Version : how do I get Hughes HDVR2 on network?



rtype
06-21-2003, 08:46 PM
I see a lot of threads and specific hacks for HDVR2 yet I don't know the where to find the basics of how to get the thing on the network. The 9thtee TurboNet card doesn't work. So, how do you get in? Sorry for the newbie question.

mrblack51
06-21-2003, 09:23 PM
the hdvr2 (and all other s2 tivos) have 2 usb ports. you can use a usb ethernet adapter. check the compatibility lists on AVS

rtype
06-21-2003, 09:32 PM
Originally posted by mrblack51
the hdvr2 (and all other s2 tivos) have 2 usb ports. you can use a usb ethernet adapter. check the compatibility lists on AVS
Got a link? I can't find it on their forum and the adapter 9thtee and weaknees sells are said to work only on stand alones. See link: http://www.9thtee.net/tivousbethernet.htm

mrblack51
06-21-2003, 10:07 PM
the one on 9thtee will work if you follow the directions in the sticky threads. the hdvr2 doesnt support ethernet by default, you must hack the unit to use it.

SR712
06-21-2003, 10:15 PM
Look here -> (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?postid=457848#post457848)
or here-> (http://customersupport.tivo.com/tivoknowbase/root/public/tv2006.htm#OtherWir) for Series 2 USB adapter info.

rtype
06-22-2003, 01:43 AM
I think I'm missing something obvious. I can't use a network adapter until I make the hack. I can't make the hack without a network adapter. What am I missing?

mrblack51
06-22-2003, 01:51 AM
Originally posted by rtype
I think I'm missing something obvious. I can't use a network adapter until I make the hack. I can't make the hack without a network adapter. What am I missing?

yes, you are missing something. you first pull the drive and use the bash_env to hack the unit. the instructions in my sig show how to enable the network adapter. once you drop the drive back in the tivo, you can hook up the usb ethernet adapter and start messing with linux on your tivo and all the benefits that go with it.