PDA

View Full Version : Tivo Series 2 video extraction help



pctappy
06-27-2003, 02:29 PM
I was wondering if someone could go through the steps necessary for extracting video from my Tivo unit starting from scratch. I currently have software version 4.01.

frivera28
06-27-2003, 03:10 PM
I would also like to know this

mrblack51
06-27-2003, 07:05 PM
there is no complete step-by-step, but basically you need to use two-kernel monte or flash your prom to obtain bash. then use the newest killinitrd stuff to remove the scrambling, then start ripping

xgdfalcon
06-29-2003, 09:44 PM
Originally posted by mrblack51
there is no complete step-by-step, but basically you need to use two-kernel monte or flash your prom to obtain bash. then use the newest killinitrd stuff to remove the scrambling, then start ripping

I'm new to Tivo. Series 2 is my first (HDVR2).
I've got BASH, removed scrambling....can't seem to find out how to do the ripping.
I've been searching for a few days, most in the forum talk as if it is something known....it isn't explained.

I'm willing to find out for myself, if I could get pointed in the right direction?

Thanks,

SR712
06-29-2003, 10:03 PM
I don't have a Series 2, but I would imagine you would use the same tools we use on the Series 1. Tytools, mfs-ftp, etc. You'll find them discussed in the TiVo Extraction Forum (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=39) . There are sticky How-Tos at the top of the forum. Have fun.

frivera28
06-30-2003, 01:17 PM
xgdfalcon:
How did you get thr bash prompt?

xgdfalcon
06-30-2003, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by frivera28
xgdfalcon:
How did you get thr bash prompt?

I used combination of d7o, MuscleNerd, and embeem's posts from HERE (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22154&perpage=15&pagenumber=6)

needo
07-13-2003, 12:46 PM
What did you guys end up using for video extraction and kmem/noscramble?

Thank you.