PDA

View Full Version : Dtivo Hack - Model & Software?

TekGecko
07-23-2003, 07:36 PM
Alright - newbie here to tivo hacking. Ive spent the last few hours crusing the forums and other various sites trying to get a good grasp on where to start. However as always - questions remain unanswered - and im hoping I could get a few moments of someones time ( who knows what theyre doing :D ) to answer a few questions.

Right now I've got a DTV receiver w/ an HU card, and im looking to upgrade to a Tivo. From what I read, the Dtivo (dtv+tivo in one unit?) is the way to go over the standalone units.

My question is first off, will any model dtivo be hackable ( doubtful ), and if not - what models are the hackable ones?

Second, is 2.5Xtreme for dtivo? .. if so, does it allow for HU card use? I read that 31 only does P4.

Basically looking for a list of hackable units & what software is the most current and supports HU cards. I manage *nix/bsd boxes for a living - so the rest should be cake.

I appreciate your time - I know what it is like to answer the same newbie questions over and over on countless hours. I promise I'll make this short and sweet :) .. and of course, help out in the forums in whatever way possible.

Great resource, great info, great people.

Thanks Much!

-Jason
TekGecko

TekGecko
07-23-2003, 07:47 PM
http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=24131&highlight=dtivo+model

Ah ha - found it. So basically any series 1 will work. I take it 2.5treme will run on all of those and unlock everything?

If so - everything I thought I knew was correct, besides not being sure if there are any series 2 units that will run HUs and be hackable. :)

-Jason
TekGecko

captain_video
07-23-2003, 09:17 PM