PDA

View Full Version : restart tivoweb from bash



tivomaster
07-31-2003, 07:30 PM
Man I wish there was a way to restart tivoweb from bash. My tivoweb is locked up tight and my wife is watching TV... :(

If I try and start it it tells me it is already started....

captain_video
08-01-2003, 01:50 PM
Type in "ps aux" from bash and see if the tivoweb utility is listed as an active process. If it is you can kill the process by typing in "kill xxx" where "xxx" is the number listed in the left-hand colum of the processes list you just displayed. Type in "ps aux" again to ensure that the process is no longer running and then reactivate it manually from bash.

BubbleLamp
08-01-2003, 03:56 PM
Originally posted by captain_video
Type in "ps aux" from bash and see if the tivoweb utility is listed as an active process. If it is you can kill the process by typing in "kill xxx" where "xxx" is the number listed in the left-hand colum of the processes list you just displayed. Type in "ps aux" again to ensure that the process is no longer running and then reactivate it manually from bash.

Unfortunately, killing tivoweb this way will reboot your Tivo. :eek:

MuscleNerd
08-01-2003, 05:45 PM
cat > /var/hack/bin/stoptivoweb
#!/bin/bash
http_get -U http://127.0.0.1:80/quit -D /tmp -T 0 -C 0 >/dev/null 2>&1
^D
chmod +x /var/hack/bin/stoptivoweb


From that point on, the new "stoptivoweb" command will....well....stop tivoweb.

This probably won't work for those cases where you've gotten tivoweb to lock up tight, as was mentioned in the OP.

captain_video
08-01-2003, 11:27 PM
Unfortunately, killing tivoweb this way will reboot your Tivo.

I just tried that and you are correct. When the DTivo rebooted I noticed that tivoweb was no longer running. I tried reactivating it via xPlusz using #45,1 but it said it was already running. I then deactivated it with #45,0 and then reactivated it and it was up and running again. However, there appear to be two different instances of tivoweb running on the DTivo (at least I think they're both tivoweb-related). One program is the /tivoweb-tcl/httpd-tt.tcl which will result in the DTivo rebooting if it is terminated as BubbleLamp indicated and I just confirmed. The other is actually four different ports which have been set up to allow multiple file transfers simultaneously, at least that's how I understand it with my peabrain. These are denoted as /tivo-bin/tyhttpd 2000 4 and will appear at least four times in the processes list. Killing one or all of these processes won't cause the DTivo to reboot. I honestly don't know if this will do anything to unlock your tivoweb but it will sure as heck terminate it and reboot it if you kill the other process.