PDA

View Full Version : Series 1 or series 2?

Mister Beefhead
07-31-2003, 10:45 PM
Hey all, brand-newbie here. I'm just starting to read up on the procedures used to do a little DTivo hacking, but I thought I'd ask this before I got too far: What is better to start with in terms of hackability (with emphasis on video extraction), ease, and useability, a series 1 or a series 2? I have either avilable to me and was just wondering which to soup up first.

Many thanks.

BubbleLamp
07-31-2003, 11:35 PM
Series 1's are generally easier to hack.

FauxCaster
08-01-2003, 03:06 AM
I've been researching this question also. Someone correct me if I'm wrong:

Series 1:

PRO: easy hacking
PRO: no encryption options technically more within the LETTER of the DMCA, even though extraction is still within the SPIRIT of FAIR USE anyway
PRO: cheaper (sort of, unless you add the $70 turbonet)
PRO: faster ethernet file transfers via turbonet than the usb bridge in S2

CON: slower processor
CON: less ram
CON: older machine, more hours in use = less life
CON: tivo could EOL service to S1 and not S2 (not anytime soon, too many still in use)

JJBliss
08-01-2003, 07:54 AM
Originally posted by FauxCaster
I've been researching this question also. Someone correct me if I'm wrong:

Series 1:

PRO: no encryption options technically more within the LETTER of the DMCA, even though extraction is still within the SPIRIT of FAIR USE anyway

CON: tivo could EOL service to S1 and not S2 (not anytime soon, too many still in use)

Yeah... You're wrong.

Series 1:

yes

Nope, you're thinking of a Stand Alone unit. All DTivos have their video streams encrypted.

Nope. Harder to find, so the commodoty price increases, not decreases

Probably

All might be true, but I wouldn't worry about it.

ou812
08-01-2003, 05:01 PM