PDA

View Full Version : 745 error

white falcon
08-15-2003, 04:17 PM
I have a problem with my dvr6000. I had a 744 card the other day. No problem, I just put on the new script right? Well, ever since, every time I load a new script, and reboots, as soon as the sat information says 100% , it instantly goes 745. I've tried finding a similar situation already posted, but I haven't found the answer. I erased my pregrams and reset everything I could find. I guess this would be a good time to start to learn to hack the tivo and do a drive upgrade. Can anyone tell me what's wrong. Can I do the hard drive upgrade somehow using a notebook? Cand I do the hacks using a notebook. I have seen several references to building my own serial cable. Is this all I'd need to do to hack it from a notebook? I am totally new to linux and Tivo and want to learn, but I also work 2 full time jobs (hence the tivo) and don't have a lot of time to study plus the revolving blackouts don't help.

captain_video
08-15-2003, 04:26 PM
You need a regular PC to do any Tivo drive upgrades. You can connect to your Tivo using the serial port and a fabricated cable with your laptop but that's all. As for the 745 and 744 problem, that's a DTV issue and is not a topic for discussion in these forums. We only deal with the Tivo side of a DirecTivo. The DTV discussions need to be taken to a forum better suited for such things.

white falcon
08-15-2003, 04:30 PM
I'm sorry, I forgot to mention that the same program that caused the 745 on the tivo worked just fine on my ordinary rca. I went to the dave sites first and they all said it is a know problem with dtivo's and sent me here. As best that I could tell or understand, there is some kind of logfile that records card numbers and once it fills, then you get this problem. tell me if I'm wrong and I'll look around somewhere else. Please point me in the write direction either publically or by email.

mrblack51
08-15-2003, 05:07 PM