PDA

View Full Version : Hacking the TiVo Book

wvh
08-25-2003, 10:11 PM
OK, I admit that is partially ego-stuff, but my book on "Hacking the TiVo" just came out and I'd appreciate feebdack. I'm more of a lurker than a participant, but I think that you'll find the book useful - plus which, this is a Linux box and I've been doing that for 10 years or so. Feel free to contact me at "vonhagen@vonhagen.org".

As I mentioned elsewhere, flames may be answered more slowly than questions ;-) This book discusses hacking TiVos up through version 4.0 (MONTE rulez!), and thus should be useful to almost everyone.

Bill

PS: I'm sure that other TiVo books, such as Jeff Keegan's upcoming TiVo book, should be equally useful. Buy them all!

tivomaster
08-25-2003, 10:52 PM
Let's see...
A book from an unknown that has terrible grammer and can't spell hacking or feedback. Sure thing, sign me up ;-)

wvh
08-25-2003, 11:08 PM
You got me! I apologize for the lack of spell-checking. I am indeed a random - a lurker, not a generator - let me know. Or perhaps that should be "hV'z fbeel gb unir bssraqrq lbh!" Perhaps we can discuss grammar offline? Let's let the book stand for itself?

Bill

tivomaster
08-26-2003, 08:39 AM
How about...

A discount for DD membrers?

A free copy for the moderators? From what you said it appears that most of your info for your book you gleaned from this forum. A free copy for the moderators of the forum would (IMHO) be a good gesture at giving back....

wvh
08-27-2003, 11:30 AM
tivomaster - I don't have the power to define discounts for the book (though I agree that a discount for forum members would be a nice idea), but I'd be glad to provide you with a copy. Please PM me with your address. I've only gotten one copy myself to date, but should receive more at some point.

JJBliss
08-27-2003, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by tivomaster
How about...

A discount for DD membrers?