PDA

View Full Version : My eyes hurt from searching, im a total newbie, can someone help? Thx.



schuang74
08-30-2003, 03:09 PM
OK so I tried to search these forums for some plain and simple explenations on what i need to do. After burning in my eyes, I'm about as confused as I started. Can someone help?

Here is what I have:

Sony Sat T60 with legit 3.X (not sure which version) running.

Here is what I am doing:

Upgrading existing 100GB drive to 2 120GB drives
Installing a TurboNet card.

Here is what I know:

How to upgrade my drive to 2 drives
How to install the TurboNet card and set it up for dialing through TurboNet.

Here is what I would like to know:

Beyond changing my dialing from phone to Ethernet, I would like to be able to telnet and to ftp into my DTivo. Is there a way to do this without a serial connection? If so How?

I would also like to extract the recroded shows from my DTivo, can I do that without losing any of my existing programs, or do I have to add some custom image to my Drive A?


The popular answers have always been: "Do a search, there are several posts on this...." But to be honest I have found that most of those posts are also answered in this mannar. I assume the answer is here somewhere, but no one seems to want to provide a direct link to it. Can someone help? Thanks.

captain_video
08-30-2003, 04:31 PM
If they're not bleeding then you've just gotten started. Did you try reading the DTivo Hacking FAQ posted in the DirecTV Tivo Hacking Forum? It's in the sticky threads at the top of the page and will answer most of your questions.

If you've got a turbonet installed then you can telnet via ethernet connection. I've never run the "legit" (I assume you mean stock DTivo OS version 3.1. The Xtremed versions are also legit as long as you use them that way) version so I'm not sure what extra steps may be needed, if any, to set up telnet other than knowing what IP address to connect to.

In order to be able to extract any shows you first need to turn off scrambling. This means that any existing recordings you currently have cannot be extracted. The easiest solution to all of your questions would be to install 2.5Xtreme and then upgrade to either 2.5.2 or 3.1 using Superzap's upgrade program. All of the hacks and utilities you want are included in the xPlusz program included in the upgrade. Check out my upgrade tutorial in this (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=5827&perpage=15&pagenumber=4) thread. Check out the readme file for Superzap's xupgrade program while you're at it in this (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21070) thread. To extract programs you'll need an extraction utility. I'd recommend TyTool since it's currently the most complete extraction, editing, and muxing program for the Tivo so far and also among the easiest to set up and use. You can get TyTool in this (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=25588) thread and the companion files required with installation instructions in this (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=25648) thread. At some point you'll probably need a serial cable to communicate with your DTivo. Make one yourself using the instructions found in this (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21070) thread (note that there are several tutorials on doing this so look at all of them) or buy one already made from 9th Tee.

schuang74
08-30-2003, 07:59 PM
Yeah I read through the Hacking FAQ, but it always seems like these FAQ's are written for people who already know what they are doing. I am waiting for the true "newbie" guide to surface somewhere.

OK so from the sounds of things 2.5xtream is just a "virgin" Tivo image with added functionality correct? I want to retain all of my currently recorded shows, can I apply 2.5xtream to my existing recordings?

captain_video
09-02-2003, 08:09 AM
Look no further:

http://www.gormly.com/~drapatin/tutorial.html

P.S. The link to this was posted in the How Tos Only sticky in the DirecTV Tivo Hacking Forum. The Newbies Forum was started well after the How Tos thread was started and none of the pertinent newbie data ever got transferred over to the newbie forum.

JimJohnny
09-06-2003, 05:39 PM
Schuang, I am as well a newbie and have been given all of the keep reading post. Its tuff if you don't have much backround in this stuff. If you 25xtreme your drive you will lose the recordings. You will need to uprade to 2.5.2 or 3.1 for stablity in your software if you decide to upgrade.

Now dont quote me but I think you can install the no scramble hack through your turbonet. Which will allow you to watch the shows you transfer. I don't know if you need that installed before the shows were recorded. Maybe someone else can post to answer that one. I am in the process of installing my turbonet card right now so I don't have enough experience to say. I have read that you need a copy of Tytool5 or later to transfer shows.
If you decided to record over your shows and install the 25xtreme this was great for me

http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=25564&highlight=getting+started+t60

Well I hope I helped.