PDA

View Full Version : serial cable question



hdvr2
09-01-2003, 04:53 PM
Well, it's more about my serial port.
I am trying to get the serial port on my computer to work. I assume it does, because I can run extremeHU. But when I try to short pins 2 & 3, I thought a vt100 session should give me an echo, but when I type, I get nothing... and when I hook it up to a tivo, I get nothing as well.

mrblack51
09-01-2003, 05:02 PM
if you can't get echo when you short the cable, then your terminal or the cable are messed up.

hdvr2
09-01-2003, 05:10 PM
maybe I'm crazy, but I've tried it on 3 machines already.
Are Pins 2 &3 the ones that if you're looking at the back of the computer (male side) that are on the wide(set of 5 pins), and they are the 2nd and 3rd pins from the left?

BubbleLamp
09-01-2003, 09:20 PM
Originally posted by hdvr2
maybe I'm crazy, but I've tried it on 3 machines already.
Are Pins 2 &3 the ones that if you're looking at the back of the computer (male side) that are on the wide(set of 5 pins), and they are the 2nd and 3rd pins from the left?

Here's a link (http://www.dataip.co.uk/Reference/Serial9DPinOut.php) I found on Google.