PDA

View Full Version : Error trying to do backup



onyx00
09-06-2003, 09:53 PM
Hey guys, just got a HDVR2 and trying to just do a backup of the drive before I mess with anything.

I put the drive in a computer and booted the MFSTools CD I made.

I go to do a backup:

/# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/c

And I get this error:

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1, or too many mounted file systems

Any ideas? New to the Series2 so I could use some help. Thanks :-)

mrblack51
09-06-2003, 10:02 PM
Originally posted by onyx00
Hey guys, just got a HDVR2 and trying to just do a backup of the drive before I mess with anything.

I put the drive in a computer and booted the MFSTools CD I made.

I go to do a backup:

/# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/c

And I get this error:

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1, or too many mounted file systems

Any ideas? New to the Series2 so I could use some help. Thanks :-)

what are you trying to do? are you running your main system drive (probably windows) as your primary master? are you using windows xp or 2k on top of an NTFS partition? or, are you trying to mount your tivo drive with that command.

the boot disk can't recognize NTFS drives, so if you are using one (which is likely the case if you are using winXP), then you need to find another drive to backup to. if you are trying to mount your tivo drive, well, there is nothing on hda1 that would be useful for you.

onyx00
09-07-2003, 07:57 PM
Yeah, i realized that right after I posted. Got it working somewhat.

See my new post as to my new problem.