PDA

View Full Version : Newbie just wanted to verify the steps I'm going to take...

Dank
09-09-2003, 12:07 AM
I'm a newbie, I've read up on all of this, and just about to jump into the boat. My equipment is a series 1 SA (Phillips) with an upgraded drive, and I have the TurboNet card ready to install... I also have lots of programs already recorded that I don't want to lose, so I'm not going to go the extreme2.5 route.

So the steps I'm going to take:
1) Follow Steve Jenkin's "TiVo Network Hack How-To Guide" (http://tivo.stevejenkins.com/network.html) . This will install Telnet and FTP, and is the only stage that needs my drive in a PC and not in the TiVo. When done with this step, also hook up the TivoNet and close up the TiVo.
(questions: His guide says to make two floppy boot disks, one DOS and one Linux. If I already have the mfstools boot CD, I can use that instead of the linux floppy he is telling me to make, right?)

2) Move tserver & nowshowing.tcl onto the TiVo via the (now functioning...) FTP. Since I have a standalone series 1, I do not need to install the noscramble.

3) Install TyTool and/or TyStudio to download the files to the PC, or use the MPlayer to watch them streaming over the network.
(questions: do all 3 programs work with the save tserver and nowshowing.tcl files on the tivo? Or do I need to fiddle with those when I switch programs?)

4) Install TivoWeb so I can set up the tivo over the network.

5) Install JPags PPV guide info.
(questions: Is this still up to date? Is there a better solution to the PPV info?)

Those seem to be the major things I want. Any glaring ommisions I've made? Any alternate choices I have? TIA.

-Dan

GREEK
09-09-2003, 02:09 AM
Just to point out...................

My equipment is a series 1 SA (Phillips) with an upgraded drive, and I have the TurboNet card ready to install... I also have lots of programs already recorded that I don't want to lose, so I'm not going to go the extreme2.5 route.