PDA

View Full Version : Sony no longer has Parlax Ribbon cables available



Rockstead
09-15-2003, 12:53 PM
My DTIVO is on the fritz and it is 100% the Ribbon cable because fiddling with it will resolve the problem temporarily.

I searched the forum and came up with this part #:

Sony Part #: 1-960-964-11
Description: 10-pin harness

I called Sony and they said they no longer offer it, what am I to do now? is there anywhere else where I can purchase this cable brand new?

Update:

Can I use this as a replacement?

http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bin/category.cgi?category=search&item=RCBL-10&type=store


Only prob is that it iwll be a foot long!

Will any standard 10 pin Ribbon cable work?

Thank you.

BubbleLamp
09-15-2003, 01:34 PM
No, that's just stranded ribbon cable, it's not designed to for the type of connectors used on the Tivo.

nitrous
09-15-2003, 03:31 PM
I have had some luck taking the connector out and 'flattening' the connector ends out and polishing them with an eraser.

By flattening them out, the contacts seem to make a better connection when reinserted into the mb and ps respectively.

Hope this is helpful.
n|trous

Football Freak
09-19-2003, 04:23 AM
11.00 dollars and ground shipping is free.

http://www.weaknees.com/tivo_parts_bin.php

Rockstead
09-19-2003, 11:26 AM
nitrous,

Thanks for your advice, it seems to be working fine for now, but I ordered 2 Parlax cables from weakness just incase it doesn't end up being a longer term solution.

Oh and belive it or not but 9th Tee gave me a price of $35 for Parlax cables, I couldn't believe it.

Next time I buy a turbonet card it will be off those guys selling them cheaper on ebay.