PDA

View Full Version : S2 StandAlone - Any last suggestions...

Voodoo1
09-15-2003, 02:19 PM
Ok gang...

Any last suggestions before I partake in this adventure of hacking into my S2 SA for Video extraction.

Is there something specific I should know?

I have read almost all the posts with some confusion. But, I am willing to give it a go.

Does anyone know how to do a monte method to chain load your way into the 4.0 setup? This was the last reply that I got. Since I am a NewB please let me knoe if I am over my head now. LOL

Thanks,

VooDoo1

TiVOBell
09-18-2003, 08:21 AM
The fact that you asked if anyone knows how do a Monte is leading me to believe you might be in over your head. Did you search using the button above? Did you browse the forum? There is a huge thread about it.

If you choose to proceed, be aware that

- it could take months for a newbie to come up to speed. (I know this from experience.)
-you might be without your Tivo for weeks at a time, or permanently if you do not do proper backups, often.
-there is little tolerance here for questions that have already had answers posted. (I found this out from experience also.) Be prepared to read until your eyes bleed. I bought a Linux for Dummies book also.
-when you finally succeed, Tivo could send out an update at any time that renders some of your hacks useless. As a newbie, you are then at the mercy of the 'Tivo Gods' to come up with new fixes. Sometimes that can be months, sometimes that can be minutes. You never know.
-there is a guy here that will pounce on you at least once - His name is David Bought. You can safely ignore his arrogance and personal attacks. Underneath the obnoxious rhetoric, however, his point is often right.

In a nutshell, if you are technical, have lots of spare time, and have a high risk tolerance, go for it. If you expect to find a how-to document, do it over a weekend, and then forget about it, in that case your expectations are way off.

Good luck

Voodoo1