PDA

View Full Version : Hacks, and their descriptions

MudShark
09-21-2003, 09:13 AM
OK, yeah, I'm a newbie. I'm perectly fine with a command line (in an M$ enviroment) But not that great with Linux. I can wield a mean soldering iron, do microcontroler design/programing.

...So I'm teachable. :)

Anyone care to define these hacks? (and if they work/won't with a PROM hack an/or monte)

KMEM

MFS_FTP

killintrid (and the others, tiny, etc)

'patched' Tivoapp

...and any others i may be missing (I think the ftp, telnet, bash, and TiVoweb are obvvious, but then maybe so are some of the others I'm clueless on)

mrblack51
09-21-2003, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by MudShark
OK, yeah, I'm a newbie. I'm perectly fine with a command line (in an M$ enviroment) But not that great with Linux. I can wield a mean soldering iron, do microcontroler design/programing.

...So I'm teachable. :)

Anyone care to define these hacks? (and if they work/won't with a PROM hack an/or monte)

KMEM

MFS_FTP

killintrid (and the others, tiny, etc)

'patched' Tivoapp

...and any others i may be missing (I think the ftp, telnet, bash, and TiVoweb are obvvious, but then maybe so are some of the others I'm clueless on)

kmem - this is a tool for messing with the kernel's memory. specifically, its used to apply a patch to prevent shows from being scrambled. this is equivilent to using noscramble techniques on the s1 units. if you are using monte or a hacked prom, you dont need this, because you can patch the kernel. however, if you are using bash_env, then this is the only way.

mfs_ftp - used to extract and insert shows from/into a tivo. can be used on any unit which has shows which aren't scrambled and that you have bash/telnet access to.